Disable IPv6 on Ubuntu on EC2

If you don’t need it, disable it ~ If you do make sure you configure it properly

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Network Security | IPv6 | Ubuntu

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wrote about attacks on IPv6 here. I know I disabled IPv6 in some other Ubuntu post but now I can’t find it.

So I’m summarizing it here.

Why disable IPv6? Because you are just increasing your attack surface if you don’t need it.

If you do need it, secure it properly.

One of the problems with simply blocking and not disabling on Ubuntu is that your updates will still…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award