Problem with AWS M7i EC2 instances again

First copy and paste stops working, now won’t initialize

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite
Published in
5 min readDec 26, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have two AWS EC2 instances.

One is an M7i-2extralarge.

The other is an M7i-flex.large

I randomly have issues with one or both.

Just now I was working on the M7i-2extra large and copy and paste over RDP stopped working. I haven’t changed anything. Now, copying and pasting always concerns me a bit, since I work in security.

So anyway, I decide to try to reboot the instance. For whatever reason that never works. I have to stop and start the instance or I can’t get back into using UDP as I’ve written about here:

So I stop the instance and restart it. Only I still can’t get back into it. It hangs in the…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award