Someday I will figure out what is preventing me from logging into AWS EC2 instances via xrdp

But not today

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a deadline to finish a penetration test and once again I cannot log into one of my AWS EC2 Ubuntu instances.

I had to take extra steps to get all the packages updated on the system because for whatever reason some were held back. But that didn’t solve the problem on that particular instance.

When I look at the connection information to that instance it says TCP not RDP.

Something odd is going on here and eventually I will figure it out, but not today because I have other things to do.

I just wish someone at AWS or Canonical could take a closer look at what is going on and provide a more secure and reliable out of the box option. Or maybe xrdp could do that instead of using the default certs on the system and TCP instead of RDP — or is RDP the problem?

I don’t know. More research is needed.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award