Strange Experience With KDP Order Author Copies…

Page didn’t work and then it said it was “uploading my file” when I didn’t upload anything and saying something wrong with my bank account when nothing has changed

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

--

Hope someone is monitoring KDP logs for this type of activity.

I just clicked on the link to purchase author copies for a bulk discount order request.

The page would not load. I see that kdp is trying to read EU amazon addresses even though I am based in the US. What is that all about?

Then, after the page wouldn’t load, I got this row of smiley faces asking about my experiences and I clicked the saddest one, since the rest of the page was practically blank.

Then I noticed at the top of the page it said it was trying to upload a file — but I wasn’t uploading any files! I certainly hope my book is unaffected. I haven’t changed it since I first published it.

How does Amazon make sure author’s books are not unintentionally modified or maliciously modified by third parties I wonder?

The other thing is, it said something wrong with my bank account. My bank account hasn’t changed. Why are all these payment services suddenly requiring me to reverify…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award