The specified value for groupName is invalid. It must contain only alphanumeric characters and/or the following: +=,.@_- (Service: AmazonIdentityManagement; Status Code: 400; Error Code: ValidationError; Proxy: null)

Incorrect Error Message creating a group with CloudFormation

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I was creating a group using CloudFormation and got this error when I tried to reference and use the group in policy created in the same template. The error message is inaccurate because the name of my group only contained alphanumeric characters. At this point I still don’t know what caused this error. I feel like it was a bug in AWS that somehow got resolved while I trying to figure this out.

Ultimately this worked. I don’t know if the dependson is required but this slowed me down so leaving it in rather than test further. This is exactly what I had the whole time except I did delete and re-add things a few times. But I was copying and pasting the same values I had before. Wondering if it was just a…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award