Ubuntu Instance On AWS M7i-flex Hangs Trying to Connect to RDP: Fixed — on one instance but new instance doing the same thing.

EC2 Ubuntu instance not working on AWS

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I’m trying to start up an EC2 instance I was using that is running on an AWS M7i-fex and it just hangs when I try to connect.

That’s just great. Not what I need to be spending time on today.

When I get a screen shot I see a command line login. So it looks like maybe RDP isn’t starting up. Have to troubleshoot after consulting call.

This worked fine in the past so not sure what the problem is now.

Update: Came back the next day and it just worked.

🤷‍♀️

Update: Created an image of my instance. Strated it on an m7i-flex xlarge. Same thing. RDP is not working. Do I just need to wait…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award