Welcome to Bugs that Bite

Introducing a new blog from Teri Radichel

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite
Published in
4 min readJun 15, 2022

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you ever gotten stuck for way too long on an error message that should have been a simple fix? Do you fix and error and forget what you did to fix it the next time you hit the error? Do you ever spend weeks trying to convince a company that there is a bug in their product? Do you find that some error messages do not correctly describe the problem? Are some UI’s confusing? Is performance problematic with some functionality of certain applications? That’s what this blog is all about.

I rarely pay for support on cloud platforms because, basically, I feel like I’m paying to provide quality assurance. When the documentation is clear and the error messages are even mildly useful I’ll typically figure out the problem faster myself than through customer support. When I do find a problem I can’t fix, it’s often a bug or the service is down. Do I have to pay to report bugs and tell a company their service is down? That doesn’t seem fair.

I will sometimes go around in circles for ages with support teams such as I did trying to…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award