Day One of Tarot Writing Prompts: Introduction and The Fool

Using tarot to spark writing inspiration.

Grace Moore
Build a Better Writer

--

Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Have you ever used tarot to aid in your writing practice?

About a year ago I began experimenting on occasion with using tarot cards to come up with writing ideas. I would sometimes post writing prompts based on tarot cards to my Instagram, but at some point, I fell out of the habit.

Well, I’ve decided to resurrect the practice, and my goal is to post one tarot prompt a day here on Medium until I’ve completed the whole deck. I’ll start with posting prompts based on the Major Arcana in order and then move on to the Minor Arcana.

Each day I’ll post a picture of the card, a little explanation of what the card means, and then come up with a writing prompt. The prompts will be mostly geared toward fiction writers, though nonfiction writers could probably find a way to tweak them to fit their needs if they wanted. I’ll also include a “one-line prompt,” which is just a line of story or dialogue that I think fits the theme that you can use to jump-start your own writing if you would like.

I will be tagging all of these posts with “Tarot Writing Prompt”, and you will be able to find them listed on the navigation bar on the Build a Better Writer homepage.

--

--

Grace Moore
Build a Better Writer

Learning to do this writer thing and sharing as I go. Poetry, CNF, mental health, and too many other interests. Support: ko-fi.com/gracemoore