Candidate Statements — 2020 Board Elections

Python Nigeria
Build with Love
Published in
8 min readFeb 13, 2020
Photo by Elliott Stallion on Unsplash

Chairperson

Pius Okigbo Jr. (@Uncle P)

As a software entrepreneur in Nigeria for nearly 30 years, I’ve just about seen it all till I encountered Pandas and literally fell in love with this python library. At over 60, I least expected I’d be waxing lyrical about any software let alone thinking about machine learning for myself.

I must admit, I’m all about the next generation of AI and machine learning software warriors and everything possible to push policy to develop as many warriors as possible in the shortest possible time. The future for us is in AI. Period!

My goal is to use my experience to drive the adoption of Python and its libraries to the next generation and bridge the AI/machine learning gap. My name is Pius Okigbo Jr., I’m the CEO of a 30-yr old software firm. A fellow of the Nigerian Computer Society (NCS), a past president of ISPON and a fellow of ISPON and have been a member of several federal, ministerial and private sector-led committees on software.

Nnamdi Okoro (@namdi)

For the best part of my life, I have been involved with inspiring individuals to raise their horizon by asking positively powerful questions that inspire and point us toward a better future. With this opportunity to become the Chairperson of Python Nigeria Board, it will be another chance to live a positive impact, reach out to people aggrieved in the past with a plan to re-integrate to the community, exchange views with people that i will come across and strive towards achieving the ultimate goal of making the community sustainable and vibrant.

Vice-Chairperson

Peter Olayinka (@peterolayinka)

Peter Olayinka is a software developer and a co-organiser of PythonIbadan. He has also volunteered at PyCon 2016 and PyCon 2017 (helped with event visibility).

He is running for this post for the following reasons:

- Ensuring python gathering/meetup are organised regularly across the country

- Reach out to tertiary institutions and set up a community there If it doesn’t exist.

- Help seek support for local python communities in the country

- Transparency and Openness to every member of the community

- Accountability of each of our activities

- Ensure the community is active as it used to be by seeking advice and guidance from our predecessor

- Ensure engagement within the community

His plan for the community is to strengthen the community.

Glory Agatevure (@gconnect)

My name is Glory Agatevure, Python and Android developer.

I have been involved in several Python events and programs like: Pycon Nigeria 2018 and 2019, PyCon Africa 2019. I am the lead chairperson, Python Akwa Ibom.

I plan to have more Pythonistas coming from this part of the country.

I’m passionate about the Python community. I like to see it grow more than it is now. Hence why I’m vying for office in the capacity of Vice-Chairperson.

Mustapha Garba (@MustaphaMG)

My name is Mustapha Garba, and I am a data professional based in Kano.

Python has consistently been one of the fastest growing programming languages in the world. It’s vibrant ecosystem and welcoming community has ensured that Python uptake has been both steady and consistent the world over. In Nigeria we have seen an explosion in the numbers of Python programmers, as well as people who use Python in their daily activities, but would not otherwise classify themselves as ‘programmers’. I think it is vital to reach out to both of those groups and bring them under the common umbrella of Python, that we can grow and improve and benefit from each other.

I feel that, as a community organiser (with GDG and later DSC) I have the reach and touchstones within the community to help achieve that.

Amanda Obidike (@Amanda Chirpy)

Amanda is the Founder of STEMi Makers Africa where she empowers young Africans to become tomorrow’s changemakers through Invention, Creativity and integrated STEM fields. Her mission is to generate a talent base and establish young Africans as catalyst and global leaders in attracting, educating and producing the next generation of Innovators for the betterment of all citizens.

As a prospective Vice-Chairperson for Python Nigeria, I will love the opportunity to drive sustainable Community projects and grow partnership with my influence for the best interest of the initiative. I look forward to Python Nigeria being portrayed on a better platform where impacts will be driven and our work shown on a national platform.

I also aspire to drive practical learning and work with a wonderful Board Team to foster development of stronger skills and Future of Work for Nigerians.

Secretary

Azeez Ibrahim Akinkunmi (@mrkhunmie)

My name is Azeez Ibrahim Akinkunmi. An integrations developer at Techadvance. I am also a corp member serving in Ogun state. I have been working with Python for over 2 years officially. I write flask applications, I have also used this skill to create real-time solutions to immediate problems.

One of my plans is to bring Python closer to the grassroots. The Python community is not getting the necessary vibe it should be getting, unlike other communities. The community is mute and silent. The only time we hear from the community is during conventions which should not be. Weekly and monthly newsletters should be sent across to community members. So doing, we can include job postings to the letters too. Also, community updates should be given to the members from time.

Python community seems to be like an on-air community. No physical meetups except for conventions. The community does not have any give back programs to society. As a member of the National Youth Service Corps, Python tutorial classes can be organized for fellow corp members and can also be taken to places of primary assignment. Introduce this greatest tool of ours to young mind in secondary and primary school. By doing this, we are not only creating awareness for the community but we are also solving the issue of unemployment by empowering youths with the necessary skills.

Lastly, as a secretary to the community, updates and information should be well documented and shared out to the community members. The last convention program just closed without a documentary video of what the events look like, no written messages on the slack channel to encourage members who were not present to attend the next convention. Things like this should be in place if we are actually want to make this community grow better. Our social media presence is nothing to write home about. No engagement!!

These and several other things which I can’t mention here I will like to bring on board if I were to be elected as the secretary to this community.

IT Director

Kelvin Adigwu (@Kelvin Adigwu)

I am Kelvin Adigwu, an Integrations Developer at TechAdvance, with a few years experience working with python. I major in web development using django & flask frameworks.

I hope to use this position to improve PythonNigera in all areas where technology can be of help. inclusive of more organised access to learning resources, timely delivery of services needed by the community and promoting collaborative works as ways of enhancing learning and experience.

Psalms Kalu (@Psalms Kalu)

My name is Psalms Kalu. I am based in Aba Abia State where I started the Python Abia community for over a year now, and by the work we are doing we have been able to bring strong awareness for the Python language in our local community and the surrounding communities. I have an M.Sc in in Computer Science from Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka. And I am a passionate programmer with experience and exposure in languages like Java, Javascript, PHP, C++ and of course my favorite of them all Python. I have also done several projects with them. I think it is worth a mention that I am also a Computer Science lecturer at the Abia State Polytechnic and this gives me a lot of opportunity to mentor students and get them interested in Python programming as early as possible.

On why I think I am the best candidate for the position of IT Director, I want to bring my over-a-decade experience as a tech developer, leader and mentor in to play in serving a larger community like Python Nigeria. Leading the Python Abia community has exposed me to several sides of community service, and part of what I want to do is work with other members of the board to expand the reach of the Python language and community through coordinated nation wide free python bootcamps in schools and tech hubs. I want to lead the community as an IT director to work on projects and publish papers that will solve national and global problems, amongst other things.

Thank you all for nominating me for this position, I hope you go all the way and elect me into it.

Miracle Ayodele (@Miracle Ayodele)

I am Miracle and I reside in Lagos. I have been working with python for quite some years and have gotten my hands dirty developing Django and Flasks apps.

I plan to help the community develop applications tailored for businesses, help the community leverage Industry standard frameworks, thereby focusing on problems businesses are facing.

Adeyemi Adenuga (@adeyemiadenuga)

I am a banker with more than 10 years experience. I develop and preach acceptability of Python in the financial industry and also developed a solution that won efficiency award in the industry in 2019.

Gbenga Oridupa (@Gbenga Oridupa (Unstoppable))

My vision is to take Nigeria to the world. We need to be recognised and appreciated. With python, we can make a difference.

Check out Gbenga’s blog.

Diretnan Domnan (@Domnan Diretnan)

I am a graduate from next year, studying Computer Engineering at Federal University of Technology, Minna. I have barely 3 years of coding experience but a ton of open sourced work. I have observed the awesome role PythonNigeria has played so far in bringing Python developers throughout Nigeria together. My reservations come with the practical impact PythonNigeria has on the IT Sector. We should be able to build and release libraries and tools that our developers have worked on, products that we and our developers are actively involved in. I can step in at this point.

Treasurer

Adeola Lawal (@Lawal Adeola)

My name is Adeola Lawal Zainab, I am a graduate of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology where I studied Computer Science and Engineering. I achieved most of my breakthroughs as a leader in the university.

Owing to my love for the betterment of things around me and for the growth of my society, I have been in consecutive leadership positions, one of such is being the Vice President of the Nacoss (National Association of Computer Science Students) association in my institution and I am the current team lead of a Data Science Community in my institution known as Lautech Data Science community. Being in those leadership positions have helped me achieve my dreams of seeing young people get breakthroughs at their young ages through hard work. As a team lead, I was able to assist more people study courses, get into competitions and also travel for both local and international conferences.

The position I’m running for will help me keep at helping young people succeed although this time in a different way. Corruption has been a major issue that has affected many things in this country, being in the position of the treasurer as much as possible would help me neglect corruption as I promise to be accountable for the finances of the organisation and committee. I will also support the board in making better decisions that will be for the development and improvement of the community.

--

--