Photo by Yasin Arıbuğa on Unsplash

Why I Don’t Drink Alcohol Anymore as a 25 yo.

And why you also might want to stop if you care about your life quality.

Justyna Cyrankiewicz
9 min readMar 15, 2023

--

Here’s an unpopular opinion: drinking alcohol is obsolete.

I’m 25, and I’m Polish, which adds to the controversy of this statement.

But the “sober” trend is rising, and I think everyone should reconsider the “why’s” behind the glass.

Being young, as per definition, I should be out every Friday night, partying and “living my life”.

And instead, I go to sleep at 9 pm to wake up at 5 am, meditate for 1h and exercise before I start working at 8. I also meditate for 1h before going to sleep.

In the eyes of many people I know, I’m boring.

And sometimes I wonder that too.

But then I remember I wouldn’t trade a single day of this “boredom” for living a life that wasn’t mine, pretending to be someone I am not, doing things that leave me empty and burnt out emotionally. Not anymore.

I learned my ways of life, and I protect them seriously.

One of them is not drinking.

Why it’s worth quitting the booze

--

--

Justyna Cyrankiewicz
Build Your Own Thoughts

I write about simple things for complicated minds. Receive Free Weekly Letters from me: https://stackingstones.substack.com/