Escaping any sense of Normality. New entrepreneur alert.

Rachel Stav
Build Your Wealth
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2022

As a young female, I want nothing to be average or normal in my life. After all, I didn’t really grow up in “normal” circumstances with having a single mom and her ex-in-laws (AKA my loving grandparents) that helped take care of my brother and me for as long as I can remember.

Seeing my mom work her ass off day in and day out with a 9–5 in the cooperate world but more like 6–10 I knew that I wanted to make a lot of money and need a lot of money. I am an artistic person so I crave to express myself through painting, fashion, and songs. However, I know that a lot of the hobbies I tend to enjoy usually tend to drain my bank account. Nothing in this world is free and you just need money to survive point-blank.

A painting I did about a year ago was inspired by celebrities who get their hair and makeup done every day. Image by author.

As I am taking a break from school currently, I am on a path of creating my own success story with music but I needed to create something that would help support my living costs as an 18-year-old. The last thing I wanted to do was get another pointless part-time job so I started my own drop-shipping store on Shopify. After watching countless YouTubers, and other young people's successes, I brought it upon myself to do the same.

And…

Oh boy has this been a journey. I opened my store about two months ago and only made a few sales, definitely not the easiest thing to run. However, I know with any sort of passive income and business you need to put in the time and effort; and allow it to grow. But not going to lie it’s been tough. I feel like I have tried in every way to get my business the traction it needs but clearly, I am doing something wrong. So if anyone successful out there have any tips that would be greatly appreciated.

I am determined to make six figures to seven figures off of my store, as passive income is one stepping stone to becoming financially free by a young age.

Not to mention with starting a business at the age of 18 I have gotten surprisingly a lot of crap from kids my age. Or even adults in my life thinking I can’t do it. But with all the haters, even if it made me cry here and there it only makes me want to work even harder; and become even more successful. It gets my ass off the chair and running towards my goals more aggressively than ever.

The first month I even started on this journey I kept my mouth completely shut because I was so afraid of everyone's judgment and commentary. Did I regret telling people later? No not really because I think everyone that gave me their harsh words of what they thought and how they thought it was not going to be serious or succeed, I just use that as motivation to clap back.

I think the hardest thing for me is that I have failed multiple times with business starting from my high school years. Looking back I just cared too much about what people thought and lacked effort towards my back then t-shirt business. But this time, I promised myself and encourage myself every day to keep going no matter how hard it might get, because being poor is hard, and getting wealthy is hard but which hard am I going to choose. To say that I did it all on my own too will make me feel accomplished. If I don’t believe in myself then who will?

Hopefully in a month, less or more I will be writing an article on how successful everything is turning out. Since about sixteen, I have been on this journey and am ready for some things to work out.

I don’t want ordinary, or normalcy. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it for those who want that life, but for me, it does not fit my energy or personality. In fact, it makes me feel trapped.

I am writing this as a letter to myself, to stay motivated, and level-headed through times when I just feel like giving up. Yes, there have been many times where I just wanna say “screw it, I’m done” but my seven-year-old me whispers in my ear, the only real way to fail is to completely give up. That couldn’t be me.

--

--

Rachel Stav
Build Your Wealth

As a young female, I learn a lot and love to write about it. I talk a lot about my own life lessons. Creating content on any platform is a passion of mine. ;)