How I measure my portfolio performance

George Apostolopoulos
Build Your Wealth
Published in
3 min readSep 8, 2022

I know you've been struggling with calculating your portfolio performance. I‘ve been there too. In this article, I am going to show you how I personally calculate my portfolio performance, both monthly and yearly.

Photo by Nicholas Cappello on Unsplash

Disclaimer: I am not a financial advisor, nor a professional investor. I only want to show you my tips from my own experience and my plan is to entertain anyone who is passionate about investing. Don’t trust non-professionals on the internet. Stay safe!

Introduction

The way I calculate my performance is not the official one that is used by institutional investors. There is actually a bunch of ways to estimate your performance, but I will not mention them in this article. I will try to keep it simple and minimal. Let me know, however, if you ‘re interested in a detailed description of all the methods in another article.

What you will need:

  1. Portfolio value at the end of the period.
  2. Portfolio value at the beginning of the period.
  3. Amount of inflows (deposits) that will be subtracted.
  4. Amount of outflows (withdrawals) that will be added.
  5. Average portfolio value between end and beginning period.

Personal Example (August 2022)

In August, my portfolio returned -3.3%. That’s right, I lost 3.3% of my portfolio value in August.

How did I come up with this number?

Well, it’s very simple. On August 1st, my portfolio value was 65,066.9€. On August 31st, my portfolio value was 63,064.6€. Thus, if you divide the final value with the initial value and subtract 1, you get:

63,064.6 / 65,066.9 -1=0.03, or -3%.

Hang on, I said -3.3%, not -3%.

Why isn’t the previous calculation precise?

Error no.1: Well, I forgot to mention that I added 60€ to my portfolio in August and I used it to buy more assets. This is an inflow to my portfolio, so I need to subtract it from my final value. The reason behind it, is that I didn’t earn that money. I just added it from my personal account to my portfolio. Let’s calculate again:

(63,064.6 – 60) / 65,066.9 -1=0.032, or -3.2%.

It’s frustrating, isn’t it? Why did I say -3.3?

Error no.2 (this is tricky): Although it doesn’t seem straight-forward, I want you to wonder: is it the same if you add 60€ to your portfolio on August 1st and if you add it on August 31st ? Well, no… It is different and the reason is that every deposit (inflow) or withdrawal (outflow), must be calculated with a bias, depending on how many days of the month this transaction is part of your investment. I know it’s tricky, but let’s assume that my 60€ have been actively “working” for my portfolio for 30 days. Well, it’s not the same as working for only 1 day.

Example: Let’s say I decide to add 60€ on Aug 1st, in a stock that is priced at 10€. My best friend decides to add 60€ on Aug 30th when the stock is still priced at €10€. Suddenly, the stock goes up 10% on Aug 31st. That’s perfect! We both made 10%, right? Well yes! But my friend was capable of achieving the same result in 1 day, when I needed 30 days to get this 10%.

That’s why we need to find a way to take into account this investment period. It’s simple! I keep my daily portfolio value in a spreadsheet. Then I calculate the average portfolio value between the initial date and the final date.

Final calculation & formula:

Let’s calculate the final return in my example. I estimated my average portfolio value from Aug 1st to Aug 31st to be 62,444.3€. To calculate my performance, I will follow this simple mathematical formula:

(Final Value -Initial Value -Inflows+Outflows)/Average Portfolio Value

So:

(63,064.6 - 65,066.9 - 60 + 0)/62,444.3 = -3.3%

Conclusion

In this article I show you how I calculate my portfolio performance. I repeat, there are multiple ways to calculate returns. However, I personally find this way to be the easiest and the most accurate for every-day investors. If you would like to see the various ways that exist and the official methods that are used by institutions, please let me know.

Finally, feel free to follow me and let me follow you back, to create a strong network of writers! Cheers!

--

--

George Apostolopoulos
Build Your Wealth

I am a software engineer, passionate about financial independence and personal growth.