I’ts “I have a DREAM”, not “I have a PLAN”

By Marcela Recinos — Creative Storyteller at Buildawow

Buildawow
Buildablog
2 min readAug 1, 2018

--

Yesterday, while taking an online course, one of my tasks was to watch the Ted Talk by Simon Sinek, about “How great leaders inspire to action”. I had already watched it many years ago, but now it really got my attention, and opened my eyes.

As Sinek stated, Martin L. King said “I have a dream” not “I have a plan”. And there’s a reason for that. Everybody has a plan, or should have one, but not everyone shares WHY they have that certain plan, what drives them to it, what’s their purpose or belief. And that is what Sinek explains of great leaders who inspire action.

If someone starts with what they’re doing, they will not differentiate from the competition. If you start with WHY you do it, you can drive behavior because you appeal to your audience emotions.

And this is not only something that you have to find to create a business or to sell a product. You have to find this WHY to be inspired by our own lives. If you have our own business, or work for someone else, if you practice a certain sport, if you do anything, imagine waking up inspired to do so, excited to work on what you’re working, because you are inspiring other people too.

So, being a leader doesn’t mean being at the top of the hierarchy, it means being able to inspire other people with what you do, and move them to action. And most successful people and businesses own this type of leadership.

One entrepreneur that always mentions this WHY is Ryan Carson. If you follow him, you’ve noticed that he’s always asking himself and encouraging his followers to find their WHY.

Being able to discover your WHY or that of your business is something you will achieve after time of deep thinking, but it will be worth it, trust me.

As I’m a business storyteller, this is something that caught my attention because it’s a great strategy to let know people the story behind a business, in this case Buildawow. Our story did begin with a WHY, and it’s time for all of you to know about it.

So, stay tuned for our next projects, because this is a story that I hope will inspire all of you.

Hint: it’s about education.

--

--

Buildawow
Buildablog

A digital agency providing free education to people looking for jobs, and hiring them as soon as they have marketable skills.