Facilitating Inclusion as POC Leader

Christian Tran
Builders Universe
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2023

I’m an Asian-French, and also a first-generation immigrant.

As a POC leader responsible for People & Culture, I understand how crucial it is to create an inclusive and supportive work environment for all employees. Despite the increasing emphasis on diversity and inclusion in the workplace, racial minorities still face many challenges in the tech industry. The pressure to excel academically and professionally, as well as the feeling of not belonging or fitting in with the dominant culture, can contribute to imposter syndrome and hinder the ability of employees to thrive in their roles.

In this article, I would love to share my perspective on navigating tech companies and climbing the leadership ladder. I will also share strategies I’m implementing in our startup studio that can combat these feelings and create a more inclusive and supportive work environment.

Some context first.

My parents are Chinese and were born and raised in Cambodia. They later found refuge in France during the Cambodian civil war in the late 70s.

I lived in France pretty much my whole life until I moved to the Netherlands in 2016. Despite the fact that my parents had to start a new life on a whole different continent, I couldn’t be more grateful for their hard work in raising me the best they could. We couldn’t afford much as a child, but their financial sacrifice always aimed to guarantee me a future.

Fast forward, I’ve been working in tech companies for the past eight years, honing my craft in the talent area from talent acquisition and development to a broader people and culture role at Builders. I’m truly amazed by the diversity of people I worked with, I can’t count the number of different nationalities I’ve met, but I can remember the uniqueness of all those individuals.

Faces of Leadership

For a long time, I felt like I belonged. But the more responsibilities I acquired through team leadership, the more I felt like there were lesser people like me alongside.

A few years ago, I was interviewing for a leadership role in an Amsterdam-based tech startup; the whole interview panel had similar characteristics; they were all Dutch males in their 30s to 40s I didn’t get the job. The feedback provided was that I crafted the best strategic plan compared to the other candidate, but I lacked ‘power’ and ‘strength’ in the way I was presenting it. I found out later that the candidate who got the job was of a similar background as the interviewing team.

DEI is, of course, always relative to its context, and I might be missing some pieces of the story, but the result was the same. I felt inadequate.

Leadership in itself is a complex topic; although inclusive leadership has been present in tech organizations, it wasn’t as well known until D&I became a priority in Western Europe. I was raised to be humble, downplay my accomplishments, respect my elders, and put my community first. I also acknowledge that I culturally assimilated to resemble a Western culture.

Assimilation can be seen as a survival mechanism because it allows individuals to navigate and succeed in the dominant culture.

Assimilation may help individuals avoid discrimination and prejudice that may be directed toward those who are seen as different or “other.”

Challenges of Underrepresented Leaders

I’ve always felt in-between cultures, not Asian enough, not Western enough. Over the past decade of my career, I’ve witnessed several challenges come my way as a POC Leader, such as:

1. Bias

This can manifest in assumptions about the leader’s abilities, doubts about their leadership skills, or negative perceptions about their background or identity. It is important to recognize and address these biases. Like the interview example, it creates doubts when assessing a candidate for a leadership role.

2. Limited Networks

As a diverse leader, you may have limited networks or connections in the startup world. It can be challenging to find investors, mentors, or partners who share your vision and values. This is why I’m grateful to have been invited to Diverse Leaders in Tech organised by Techleap. We drafted a manifesto with 150 other intersectional leaders to create a more diverse and inclusive tech ecosystem. It was a great experience to be surrounded by folks who share the same mission.

3. Imposter Syndrome

Imposter syndrome is a common challenge for many leaders, but it can be especially acute for diverse leaders. The feeling that you don’t belong or are not qualified can hold you back from taking risks and pursuing your goals. It can lead to underperformance and burnout, which I’ve been close to in recent years.

Despite my challenges as an underrepresented leader, I’m committed to creating an environment where everyone feels like they belong and changing the tech ecosystem for future generations.

Our diversity is our strength.

Diversity as a strength

Your team’s diversity is important, but it’s not enough. Without a culture of inclusion and belonging, team members won’t feel safe enough to speak up or collaborate effectively.

That’s why, at our startup studio, I prioritize open and honest communication, empathy, and trust-building.

Open Communication

In a diverse team, people have different communication styles, preferences, and norms. This can create friction. That’s why we value Growing Together, which means giving each other continuous feedback and having honest conversations. We must embrace our differences and respectfully address issues to achieve our goals as a team. When we get out of our comfort zone, we grow and become the best version of ourselves.

Showing Appreciation

Appreciating each other at work improves relationships and well-being and fosters collaboration. We implemented Love Bombs in our monthly all-hands meeting, where every team member compliments someone who went above and beyond for them. This creates vulnerability for the giver and validation for the receiver. By acknowledging each other’s strengths and achievements, we reinforce what makes us unique.

Looking ahead

Overall, being a person of colour comes with challenges, but I have the privilege of leading our studio’s culture and creating an environment where everyone can thrive. My aim is to offer a world of possibilities where we support every team member while respecting their authentic selves.

Diversity and inclusivity are crucial for the success of startup studios. By creating an inclusive environment where everyone feels valued, respected, and heard, startup studios can lead the way in building the tech companies of tomorrow for current and future generations.

If you share the same vision to make tech more diverse and inclusive, I’d love to connect and share on the topic.

--

--

Christian Tran
Builders Universe

Leading People & Culture at Builders Studio. Talks about Diversity & Inclusion, Well-being and curious about other human beings 💝