The scope of an Interior Architect

Emma Hunt Brown
Building a house, making a home
3 min readFeb 13, 2020

Even though my degree was in Interior Architecture and my design process is grounded in the principles and processes I learned over the four years studying, once I was out in the real world and working Agency side, my role was usually as a 3D Designer. Only very occasionally would I be referred to as an Interior Architect, and as an Interior Designer almost never. Yet really, I was all of the above.

This is the joy of my career, how varied it can be, with opportunities to learn new skills and knowledge. As a 3D designer my work could range from designing custom furniture, display systems or signage. I could spend six weeks researching archives for a National Trust exhibition or six months auditing Barclays estate and producing guidelines for their global signage rollout. Being a creative often involves wearing different hats, but always applying the knowledge and skills I’ve acquired and polished along the way.

My current project Clock Mill Barn involves stepping completely out of my comfort zone, the commercial sector. I’m jumping headfirst into transforming a ramshackle barn into a family country home. Not only is this my first foray into designing a home under a Principal Designer hat, but I am also managing the build in a Project Manager hat, so a full end to end role!

I know it’s going to test me, but after working for many years on end-to-end retail projects, there is nothing more rewarding than maintaining creative control from the very first concept idea to styling a finished site up. It isn’t always possible, but when you are able to, getting to stand in a space that at one point only existed in your head, is a pretty fantastic feeling.

As Principal Designer, I’m responsible for working with my client to produce a brief and define what it is they want. I’m working closely with my Architect and Structural Engineer, who take my designs and apply calculations and loads and building regulations to ensure it is a safe, fully functioning structure that meets industry requirements. As an Interior Designer I will understand how client wants to use the space, how to induce particular effects, qualities and feelings through the fabric of the building itself and the flow of the spaces working together.

As Project Manager I’ve hand picked a team of Experts, Consultants, Contractors and Craftsmen to deliver the build on site. I will be the point of contact for Building Control, I’ll manage weekly meetings and site inspections to keep the construction phase on track, on time and on budget.

As an Interior Designer, I will work with my client to produce mood boards, materials palettes and specifications lists. I’ll guide them through an inventory of their existing furniture and use my network of suppliers to select specific pieces for Clock Mill. I’ll work to their brief and their budget in creating spaces that blend the architectural features of a traditional industrial barn with the craftsmanship and luxury of modern living.

Keep coming back to my blog and my Instagram account to watch our progress. Wish me luck!

--

--