What is Artificial Intelligence?

Stephen Levano
Building a New Future Bit by Byte
2 min readSep 24, 2018

The 21st century has seen the most leaps in technology in human history, and we’re not even a quarter way through it. One of the largest breakthroughs is the start of artificial intelligence. Artificial intelligence, also known as AI, is a a system of computer code that is programmed in a matter than it can think for itself. Many believe that eventually it will be able to emulate human thought. I am personally interested in this topic as someone who codes on a daily basis and is eager for new technology. This pertains to my career no matter what I will be doing. Artificial intelligence and machine learning will be used for endless things. It is used in many things today that people don’t realize such as AI powered predictions in google maps, targeting demographics for marketing, and social media data collection. Most people can benefit from artificial intelligence. Google Maps navigation is a great example. I know some information about the topic of AI, but I still have much to learn.

What questions can we ask?

What fields can benefit the most from AI technology?

What fields of work will be primarily replaced by AI? If so, which fields will necessary for humans to control?

What legal documentation will prevent AI?

What can I do to help prepare me for the change?

A skill that will help prepare me for the change is knowing computer code. If I am able to apply human thought and knowledge of business with AI via coding, I would be a valuable candidate for work.

In order to develop this skill, I can continue to code.

How will I research Artificial Intelligence?

In this series of blog posts I will conduct research by finding information from several primary sources, and also getting information from a book from the library, a classmate, as well as another blogger.

--

--