Starting the build — Part 2

Lex
Building a Soma Wolverine
2 min readApr 9, 2018

Once the frame arrived, I couldn’t wait to get started. Up first: Installing the headset (Cane Creek 40 ec34). After some youtube research I decided the home-built press (threaded rod, nuts and big washers) was the way to go.

Turned out it was much more difficult then expected to press the cups in straight (note to self: Don’t believe everything on youtube). So the next morning I took the frame, fork & cups to my lbs and they pressed in the cups. This felt as a bad start of the project but luckily the bikeshop owner ensured me that headset installation is the hardest part (without the right tools).

I regained confidence when I did manage to install the crown race, cut the fork to size and drive in the star nut.

Cutting the fork to size
10cm BBB stem installed with quite some spacers as I don’t know what bar height I’ll choose
Compact BBB drop bars

With the headset installation complete, I moved on to the first steps of the drivetrain by installing the bottom bracket and crank.

Shimano ultegra sm-bbr60 bottom bracket
Shimano ultegra 6700 175 mm 5 arm 130 bcd crank

I chose the Ultegra crank as I really like it on my road bike and because it should have the right chainline (probably with some spacers) for the Shimano Alfine 11 speed hub which I bought on Marktplaats (Dutch alternative to Ebay). The chainline is important since I’m building a belt-drive, the Gates sprockets & carbon belt are being shipped at the moment. Before I’ll install the drivetrain I will need to attach some spokes to the Alfine hub. Up next: Wheelbuilding.

wheels to be

--

--