BTF Next Generation: Art Evren Terek

Tugba Ozturk Arslan
Building Bridges
Published in
3 min readOct 13, 2016
Young people smiling for a better future

Art is one of the artists who is participating Art @ Turkfest in Seattle in October 15–16, 2016 with his mind blowing abstract drawings. He is the youngest one in the team of artists who have donated different types of unique art pieces to Bridge to Turkiye Fund Empowerment Scholarships. He is mainly concerned about the students in Turkey especially from the aspect of having the equal opportunities in education. The moment when hearing about this event, he decided to help raise funds using his talent and passion that he pursued since his childhood to express his artistic feelings.

Art Evren Terek, his bio and the art work he donated

Art expressed his interest, motivation and efforts with these words:

I’ve always been passionate about social justice and making sure that everyone has equal access to opportunity no matter where they were born and who they are. For the past couple years, I’ve worked with Planned Parenthood through the Teen Council program to educate youth in schools around the area about accurate sexual health and identity. I’ve advocated for family planning and accurate and inclusive sexual health with my representatives at both the state and national level. I spend much of my free time discussing with my peers and adults around me about the inequalities in our societies and how we can fix them. When I heard about the Bridge to Turkey fund providing money for education to kids in need, I knew that I wanted to help raise money for them. Education is such an important and crucial part of a person’s growth and is vital to moving the world forward.

Thank you Art! You are a true inspiration.

I believe you have the same question as us seeing his drawings for the first time that: “How are you doing it? What is your method? Are you planning in advance?”. Here is Art’s answer to these questions:

--

--