Now am I ready for the big wide world?

--

I am disappointed my short work placement has finished but I plan to continue support working whilst preparing for the next stage of my career path. I am thankful for this opportunity; being able to expand my skill set, working for Time and supporting the amazing service users and working in a different environment enabled me to enhance my knowledge and skills, helping me feel more equipped for my future.

What I have learned from the placement:

· Enjoying working with these individuals enabled me to give the most and offer the best support possible.

· My nurturing personality allows me to protect and act as a supportive model.

· I need to be confident in my skills and knowledge and be reassured that my friends often direct me to sources or ask me questions which enable me to expand and reflect on my existing knowledge of this condition. I need to not let my worries prevent me from achieving what I want to achieve.

· I channel my passion to offer the best support I can to these individuals, and I know now from doing this job that I am better suited and more equipped for future roles.

Success used to mean being known within the field and making a good income but now success to me is being able to come home at the end of the day happy and proud of what I have offered that day.

Using sign language to communicate

What will happen in the future?

Although there is still ambiguity about what will happen after graduation, I feel excited and determined to get the job I am hoping for. I am more passionate about working in autism than ever. I spend my free time reading, watching and asking about autism (See this link for some interesting information on autism https://www.apa.org/helpcenter/autism). I am aware of all of the potentials of this career, supporting the families which I am fond of, researching to find a true cause, working within a school as a SEN teacher, all of which are options to considers. Most important to me is being part of a long-term support system and being able to spend enough time with the young people to understand their needs.

I have become interested in enhancing the communication skills of autistic individuals. I feel this is such a barrier to autistic individuals in a chaotic society, being able to communicate how they feel and ability to read others expressions of communication. Starting BSL within my University course has enhanced my knowledge of how to support the communication needs of those who have limited verbal abilities and being able to provide them with an environment where they can express themselves can protect them from a very overwhelming and confusing society. As a result, I would like to take up a Makaton course, as an attempt to enhance my knowledge of these children’s communication techniques.

A speech language therapist, could this be me?

So, perhaps not ready to have a mortgage and a 9–5 job but I have realised I have two very fascinating career potentials, more confidence and a passion that will help me to fight for what I believe these individuals deserve. Definitely more prepared than before.

References

S. Learner (2018). Using sign language to communicate [Image] https://www.homecare.co.uk/news/article.cfm/id/1600289/outstanding-home-care-communication-makaton-choir Accessed on 29/04/20

C. Williams. (24th October, 2018) A speech language therapist, could this be me? [Image] https://www.spectrumnews.org/news/therapy-taps-rhythm-boost-speech-autistic-children/ Accessed on 29/04/20

--

--