Just write, will ya?!

One step to overcoming that annoying writer’s block

Justina Bakutyte
Building ImpressPages

--

Writers gonna write. But sometimes it gets haaaard. Sometimes writing becomes a monkey, NO! a gorilla on your back.

I’ve been writing for money (not excluding the pleasure) for about two years now. In the life cycle of a ‘serious writer’ it’s a blink of an eye, I know. But it doesn’t mean I haven’t encountered all those bukowskian stages of writer’s despair.

Writer’s block is a natural state for me.

Ok, I am not talking about such block when you can’t write for months or years and your whole carreer dangles on a thread. I am talking about that

  • state of mind when you sit in front of a blank page for a half an hour;
  • that feeling of your guts turning in ‘cause your brain is dehydrating from the lack of ideas;
  • that void, when you keep browsing through endless threads of articles just to find yourself feeling even more pathetic...

So I’ve had that today. In fact, minutes ago. I couldn’t concentrate to write a serious piece for my work. Ideas were bouncing off my brain like it was infested with chicken pox or something.

What I did is I started writing.

Hand lettered quotes by Sean Wes

I had thoughts that were cluttering my mind for awhile and they wouldn’t let me concentrate on the work related stuff.

So I wrote them down.

Over the course of 30 minutes, I created three drafts for new stories here on Medium. The effect was instant.

  • Old ideas were safely put to rest without risking to lose them.
  • Space for new ideas was available.
  • Plus, that flimsy writing warmed me up for the serious stuff.

So I suggest writing it down. Whatever it is spinning inside your beautiful mind — a story, a joke, a recipe — write it down, work on what’s currently important, come back to those extra ideas later.

Again, this is just my method.
Share your hacks and experience in the comments!

--

--

Justina Bakutyte
Building ImpressPages

Content creator & editor | NEW: Yieldify PAST: @whatagraph @konbini @aplusapp @boredpanda