Expecting paid parental leave: Working through illness to save days

UFT
Building Our Future
1 min readApr 18, 2018
Rachel Sookram, a prekindergarten teacher in Queens, has worked through illness in order to save days for maternity leave.

Rachel Sookram, a prekindergarten teacher in Queens, saved every sick day she could while she was pregnant, hoarding them so she could use them on maternity leave.

“I worked through morning sickness, when I had the flu because I knew if I didn’t, I would not have enough days to stay home after my child was born,” Rachel said.

After three years, she had accumulated just enough sick days to stay home six weeks with Serena, then it was back to work in her pre-K classroom.

“I love my school. I love my kids at school. I love my colleagues. Both of my parents are teachers. Teaching is in my blood. But right now, teaching in New York City feels like a career that does not put any value on my own family,” she said.

It is time for Mayor de Blasio to make good on his promise to provide paid parental leave to United Federation of Teacher members and other city employees.

--

--

UFT
Building Our Future

The United Federation of Teachers is a union of New York City educators and other professionals who care deeply about public education.