Why you aren’t growing, yet.

Stop worrying about how you’ll get followers, just make good stuff.

Audio Press
2 min readFeb 4, 2014

“Growth hacking” is an incredibly hot buzzword right now in the startup community. Everyone wants to find the next big growth hack and exploit it to the maximum. To be honest, I like the idea of growth hacking, but I think some people are focusing on it too much.

Image via MacStories.net

Yesterday I found this beautiful iPhone app called “Unread” to manage my RSS account. I followed their official account on Twitter. Why? After seeing their great work on my phone, I wanted to hear more. I didn’t follow to help out the developers, I followed for my own benefit. Had Unread been an awful app, I would have never followed their Twitter or supported them at all. Would I still have followed Unread’s account if they only had a landing page? Maybe. With that being said, I would be much less receptive to them if I had no reason to follow them. Anyone can make a landing page. My startup is still a landing page. So how does this apply to you?

Just create. Make useful, creative, imaginative things. It can be as small as writing an article (like me!) or creating a new social network. Whatever you do, make it excellent. If you create something amazing, people will recognize it. This is where growth hacking can come in: find creative ways to spread the word about your product and get some momentum started. And if you’re having trouble with your growth, focus on making your product even better. A good product won’t always market itself, but it sure does make it easier.

Put your head down, make something great, then come back and show everyone what you did.

--

--

Audio Press

Listen to your news. Coming soon. Sign up at http://t.co/XjFNFue43m for updates. Founded by @SomewhatJustin and @joekndy.