You Probably Are a Terrible Writer, but Don’t Let That Stop You

Adam Rains
Bulletproof Writers
3 min readNov 30, 2020

--

Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

For years, I would avoid allowing people to see my writing. I always had a passion for writing and never shied away from telling friends and family about it. When they would inevitably ask to see my work, however, I would clam up.

This is because I had a deep and visceral fear: what if I am a terrible writer?

I just knew that if I allowed people to read my work, it would cause them to think less of me. I feared the day my mother, brother, or friend would read one of my stories, only to look away awkwardly. I was certain they would see me with a combination of embarrassment and derision forever after.

The proliferation of the internet and opportunities to put my words in front of strangers did not help. It turns out; I am also terrified of the rejection of strangers. Countless times, I worked on and finished a story or article, only to balk when it came time to push the “submit” button.

Eventually, I had to ask myself whether I wanted to give up writing altogether. Spoiler alert: I didn’t.

I had to ask myself…

What if You ARE a terrible writer?

Sometimes there is worth in assuming the worst. At least insofar as it can be clarifying. Apart from the question of…

--

--

Adam Rains
Bulletproof Writers

Spreadsheet Warrior. Reluctantly travels the world. Studies history and international relations.