5 times I wanted to kill my manager

No. It’s not about making coffee or copy runs.

Kay Natsumi
Bullshit.IST
2 min readMar 22, 2017

--

You keep talking. I’ll pretend to listen.

1. When they wouldn’t answer my questions then blamed me for messing up.

Me: “Hey I have a question about how to write this part, what should I do?”

Manager: ‘I don’t know. Figure it out.’

What support looked like

*2 hours later*

Manager: “You did it wrong.”

*Fast forward a few days*

Me: “Where are the stickers?”

Manager: “I don’t know, look for them, if you can’t find them, we’ll just order more.”

Me: ….but you said earlier you know where everything is..? Ok I’ll look again.

*30 mins later*

Me: “I really can’t find them.”

Manager: “Okay, let’s order more.”

*Next day in the office*

Manager: “Oh. My. God. I found the stickers. Look. You messed up, again.”

Me: Wow really? Big surprise.

2. Because only interns are capable of disturbing others.

Ex. Intern A: “Hey can you help me with this? I can’t read this kanji.”

Me: “Yeah, sure.”

Manager: “Girls.”

*That same afternoon*

Manager blasts 80s American music high volume.
Manager spends 30 min to talk to full-timers about the
presidential election.
Manager spends 1 hour talking about her house renovations and her dog to coworkers.

3. When they openly complained about me behind my back.

Interns were never allowed in the work meetings, but the office had floor-to-ceiling walls, so everyone could hear everything anyway. There were no secrets, just segregations.

Manager: “We need more pop culture posts.”

Worker: “I thought Kay was doing that?”

Manager: “Well, she’s too slow.”

Excuse you, I can write a 700–1000 word blog post in 2–4 hours. But, it’s a bit difficult to write when your manager is constantly saying “wow this isn’t good” without constructive criticism, disapproves all of your content suggestions, and gives vague instructions like:

“Write about this.”

What exactly do you want me to write about?

4. When everyone followed their leadership example.

Manager: “Wow, the interns suck.”

A few weeks later…

Other workers: “Lol, the interns suck. Hey Interns, you suck.”

You didn’t tell me I suck when you needed my help with translation.

5. “Use your imagination.”

Manager: “I need you to pick up parcel envelopes to send out this bunch of stuff.”

Me: “Sure, what size should I get?”

Manager: “Well, use your imagination.”

Me using my ‘imagination’.

Gif credit to Giphy. Hope you enjoyed reading my internship stories! 💚

--

--

Kay Natsumi
Bullshit.IST

From Hawaii, in Tokyo. Marketing Freelance. Lover of startups and sweets. @Oursky