A Life Devoid of Magic…

Heath ዟ
Bullshit.IST
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2017

--

I’m back at work for the first day in… it’s too early to count, but it’s been at least 2 weeks, I think. Is an exact count really necessary? I think not. I need caffeine so badly right now…

I’ll say this, things piled up.

One of those things is a package from “The Office of Letters and Light.” I have not opened it yet because reading that origin address gave me the tiniest thrill of imagining this was it, the magic I’ve always felt lay just under the skin, the justification for a lifetime spent feeling different and outside of everyone else. This unimposing package was them finally reaching out.

Was I ready for this? Of course. I’ve been ready for years, but finally they see me as ready.

What will it be? An invitation from beings inhabiting a higher plane? Keepers of the secrets of love? An arcane circle seeking talent? The League of 1000 Women Who Want my Bod? A Secret Society of Mystics who guide the timeline? The Lady of the Word in search of Knights?

What, oh, what could this be?

Can I finally leave this Monday through Friday desk drudgery? Can I finally be purely me? Could I possibly be free of all of this, free to do something that matters, free to be something above these base feelings and limitations?

Will I finally know that I am special?

*sigh* once I open it there will be no more speculation of magic in this life devoid of magic.

But if I do not open it, how will I ever know?

As apathetic as I am towards all things Harry Potter, there’s a tiny speck of my consciousness that hopes a letter will be inside, with sparkling gold letters moving about a card inviting me to my destiny…

…alright, I’m opening it.

Ah… well, I guess a new t-shirt isn’t such a bad thing… and it does say “winner” so woohoo, I’m special.

Ugh. Fuck my non-magical life.

--

--

Heath ዟ
Bullshit.IST

Destroyed. Rebuilt. Broken, Mended. Annihilated. Remade. Nothing special.