Life With My Arab Mom: Mall Dates and White Lies

Ahlam Hope Hariri
Bullshit.IST
Published in
2 min readNov 18, 2016

4:30pm.

Me: Hey, mom. You wanna just go to the mall and maybe have dinner?

Mom: Yeah, sure. Let me put some stuff away and get dressed.

(My mom gets a phone call. Dressed and ready, and I wait for her to finish)

5:20pm

Mom: (from the bedroom while I’m outside) So, did you still want to go out? If yes, what time?

Me: Mama, the mall closes at 7! Are you not dressed yet?!?!

Mom: Oh, I didn’t know you meant RIGHT NOW.

Me: (mutters under breath) Sure you didn’t.

Mom: I heard that!!! I’m getting ready.

Me: Just to be clear, you mean you’re getting ready RIGHT NOW, yes?

Mom: … This is payback from the universe because I married a man my father didn’t approve of. I get a kid who won’t let me get away with a little white lie.

Me: C’mon now, I see that as a plus. You’ve been given the greatest gift in your life — me. And grandpa is probably smiling down knowing that even though his honest trait did not pass on to his daughter, it at least lives on in me! (I look up, thumbs up as well) I got you, jiddo!

Mom: I can do without the sarcasm though, you know.

Me: Sorry, Mama. Package deal.

--

--