Michael Flynn Resigns To Spend More Time With His Russian Family

Mr. Flynn resigns as National Security Adviser amid accusations he made illegal contact with Russian diplomats before his appointment.

Mister Lichtenstein
Bullshit.IST
2 min readFeb 14, 2017

--

Michael Flynn showing a photo of his wife and two sons, in Russia.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — National Security Adviser Michael Flynn resigned his post today to, in his words, “Spend more time with [my] family… in Vladivostok,” and “not because I’m a deeply corrupt opportunist who cares more about the approval of powerful leaders than loyalty to my country and her interests.”

“Nyet,” he added.

Mr. Flynn, a former Obama appointee to the directorship of the DIA, retired in 2014 after 33 years of service, resigning because of differences with the Obama administration on the subject of ISIS. He then worked for RT, a propaganda tool of the Russian state, as a vocal critic of the Obama administration.

After his 2016 appointment to the cabinet of President Donald J. Trump, it came to light that Flynn spoke extensively with Ambassador Sergey I. Kislyak, all before he was legally permitted to do so. Flynn then mislead Vice President Pence about the nature of the conversation, and landed the White House in a lot of trouble.

Speaking with the press Monday evening, Mr. Flynn indicated that he had “done a lot of soul searching” and intended to “make a change of course.”

“It is with a heavy heart that I resign my post. I bleed red white and blue, like the American Flag, and the Union Jack… and the Flag of the Russian SFSR and the Russian Federation. I’ve been hard at work since [retiring in] 2014 and my heart belongs with my family. My Russian family, in Vladivostok, from The Institute… two young children… and my wife… what have I become?”

Please recommend and comment! Please check out my website! Please check me out on Twitter!

--

--