Moments of true magic

M. Nash Suleiman
Bullshit.IST
2 min readOct 29, 2016

--

She sure is growing up fast. She is growing smarter by the day, healthy and happy. She believes I am her hero, the dad who can do anything. She believes I am her Peter Pan.

I can’t do magic, and I can’t do miracles. I can on the other hand, take her places beyond her silliest dreams. We go on journeys together, and we cover distances that can’t be measured by an app. We speak to fascinating beings, unseen breeds of animals, and a couple of times we’ve landed at the end of the rainbow. We once came across a ship captain, a woman with unparalleled bravery and a captivating personality. Her name was captain Silver. She took us along a sea trip, and anchored a shore an island where people lived in tree-houses.

We were trailed by a pirate, and the captain saved us. We once went for a walk, in the blue dusted forest, where trees whisper to each other, and animals held parties around a bonfire. We once went up a mountain so high, we counted the clouds underneath us. An owl once told us a tale that kept us up all night. We rode a horse for days to reach the realm where the enchanted bunnies live. We made friends with the bunnies, and fought off the beasts together. It was entirely possible because we tricked them, us and our friend the giant from across the lake.

She is growing up fast. She is getting smarter by the day. I know bedtime stories will slowly melt away as she grow. Maybe one day, she’ll reach back to such memories, and be my Peter Pan when I can’t.

--

--