Straight lines are life

Rayne De Jongh
Bullshit.IST
Published in
3 min readOct 23, 2016

Hands up if you feel me.

The man or woman who planned this city scene needs a gold star. Find me that person.

If you’re anything at all like me, your love for straight lines dictates pretty much every aspect of your life. To be fair, I do fluctuate between the need for order and the need for chaos in my life. Typical Libra. However, for the most part, I find myself needing to readjust, wipe away and remove anything from my living that doesn’t have a gloriously geometric-like shape.

I’m that woman who thrives on beautifully perpendicular lines.

And at the same time, I’m that woman who gets a serious kick out of throwing it all in the air and waiting for the pieces to fall only so I can ceremoniously get to work putting every last piece back in its place again. This must be why I LIVED for puzzles as a kid.

Puzzles, potions, and daydreams were the making of my childhood and if I could figure out a way to mix them together I was at my best. For example, a potion to help me find the solution to the world’s greatest conundrums at the time: why I couldn’t get the two curved lines on the design of my bed covers to match up to the posts and why politicians couldn’t follow a straight line to success resulting in world peace and a future that didn’t end with compulsory gas masks and dreary demarcated sort-of-radiation-free areas for generations to come.

Sigh. Sadly, finding a potion to successfully right [angle] those wrongs, curved lines on bedding design included, were part of the daydreams of my childhood. I dreamed of greatness, I had ambition.

As a teenager, my need for chaos certainly surpassed my need for straight lines but my ambitions never left me. I still daydreamed. Having left the idea of potions with my younger self in the past, I puzzled life’s greatest questions for the future and then wondered who should answer them. Should I find someone knowledgeable to mentor me? Should I quest to answer those weighty complexities on my own? Should I turn to friends, family, religion?

Growing into a woman, I find that many of the questions that burned deep within me have regrettably simmered down somewhat. It’s possibly a lack of time, a lack of energy, a lack of daydream opportunities or a mixture of all of those. But it’s my straight-line-days that remind me of the fire I had as a child.

It’s the days where I passionately go around my home ensuring that all my DVD cases (yes, I’m old-school like that. Young YouTubers don’t even know) are spaced and pushed flush against each other that take me back to the fight that I had within me for a better life for all.

We spend so much time being better, more productive, more stable, less chaotic, less crazy, happier, more balanced. So much energy goes into being the best person that others think we can be. But I think, that acknowledging that each of us is varied and that at any given time we may feel less than put together is 1 step closer to being more productive, more stable, less chaotic, less crazy, happier and more balanced.

For me, straight lines are life.

They are synonymous with my hopes and dreams. They are certainly not the only parts of me that give birth to joy, exuberance and a child-like passion for the smaller things in life but for today…while I’m having a very right-angled day, straight lines are life.

So if you’re feeling particularly perpendicular but the world is intent on dishing out wily and unpredictable curves surely meant only for you; remember that every time the Jenga blocks fall, you have a new opportunity to put it all back together…the right way, aiming for higher with every block you add.

--

--

Rayne De Jongh
Bullshit.IST

Writer. Graphic Designer. I habitually need straight lines.