The end of the beginning: a short story

Medium, thank you. My writing challenge is completed.

Dr. Furaha Asani
Bullshit.IST
4 min readDec 31, 2016

--

Once upon a time, my journey began.

My feet were clad in red shoes, with red matted lipstick standing guard at the gates from which my most powerful weapon comes.

Then I fell down the rabbit hole.

And it wouldn’t be the first time I’d fallen down one, but this time was different.

This land was wonderful. It was alive with all kinds of glorious creatures. For the most part, filled with love. Ready to listen. Willing to teach. Able to point me in the direction of the Emerald City.

And so I walked. And then we talked.

And then I was invited to a tea party. Oxter soup was on the menu. And the beautiful woman at the head of the table dried my tears when I told her my folly. And she gave me the best cuddles.

Then I met different sages and scribes who wanted my work just as it was. They urged me to be myself. Cut the bullshit. Find my inner poet. Literally Literary. My illness was not invisible to them, and together we RezoNated. And our mess was glorious.

Oh the people I met along the way!

Glamazons that wove tapestries and murals through words and letters. Big sisters and big brothers always willing to comfort and encourage. Poets of sensuality, story tellers from different lands.

So many lion hearts, one cyborg, and a couple of strawmen, oh my!

And once I entered the Emerald City, I discovered what it was that made it shimmer with green:

Each writer had planted seeds over the years that grew and grew. This was the place that would hold the treasures of our lives stories for all the generations to come. And then I sowed my own seeds: stories and songs and poems, that would one day grow as tall as the other Emerald plants in this place.

And my heart was full. And it is full because I know that documented stories remain evergreen.

All my medium posts can be found here:

Medium family, it is with deepest gratitude and elation that I announce that my writing challenge has come to an end.

Over a year ago I had an idea. I’d been writing for two years: just essays on different topics close to my heart. But drawing on the joy I derived in my childhood from writing songs, I wanted to push my creative boundaries.

Why not try to write something, even if it was a teeny tiny something, every day of 2016?

With encouragement from family and friends, I began. I was happy with my progress in the first quarter. On the morning of March 8, I published my piece for the day. Daddy died less than 5 hours later. No, I would not have been able to publish on that day if not that I did so in the morning. Friends held me together and I hardly slept that night. I wept.

Early on the morning of the 9th I jumped out of bed with only one goal: to write my pain.

Something happened during that period. A reaction was catalysed that cracked my creative inhibitions. I didn’t stop writing.

I won’t lie that I’ve loved every day of writing or every piece I’ve produced. But I love the portfolio I’ve created.

In 2017 I won’t be on medium as often as I’ve been in the past year. I need to bring my lab work to an end in the first quarter of the year, then hand in my thesis by autumn. There are also other creative side projects I will be involved in. If I am MIA for any reason and any one wants to get in touch, I am always available on twitter, and via email.

Me today.

Thank you thank you thank you to each and every one of you. There are too many to tag, and I am afraid if I try to I’ll miss someone out. I will never forget how many times it was conversations on medium that comforted me when I was all alone physically. Or the times I was inspired by different pieces here. Thank you for the comments and recommends.

May you all have a very happy new year. May you all receive the listening ear you have given me, when you need it most ❤

--

--

Dr. Furaha Asani
Bullshit.IST

Migrant. Postdoctoral researcher. Teacher. Mental Health Advocate. Writer. Professional in the streets, loud on the sheets of paper.