BBCR Nat’l Specialty Winner: Grand Champion Danger

BULLY KING Magazine
BULLY KING Magazine
4 min readJul 19, 2017

GRAND CHAMPION DANGER | OWNED BY JOSH BEAVERS

Full Interview Inside Issue №9

WHAT WAS YOUR 1st INTRODUCTION TO THE BREED AND HOW DID YOU GET INVOLVED INITIALLY?

“I grew up with pit bulls, my dad raised them. Mostly game dogs, pulling and sport (hog hunting) dogs. I didn’t see my first bully until around 2012. I had a friend call me about a female that he had. I didn’t know too much about pedigrees at the time, but I knew of my friend’s reputation, and that the female was bred nice.” A little back story, the friend he is referring to is Shawn Mullins of Blue Force Kennels. Shawn has been around the breed since it’s inception and well before the American Bully became recognized as it’s own breed. If you’re a breeder, or own a bully.. there’s a very good chance the lineage in your dogs pedigree can be traced back to Shawn’s yard.

“Danger was produced by Tim Edwards out of OK, Oklahoma. I was working at a Power Plant at the time. Same type deal, a friend had a dog that had become available. I didn’t have the money at the time so I began a payment plan. I never missed a payment, and this dog and I started to develop a deep bond. I am greatly appreciative for the opportunity I had been given. Danger developed into a better and better bully, and I kept watching him, amazed by his size. Like I said, I had experience with dog pull competitions, but I had never been to a confirmation show before.”

“The first show I attended was held by the UBKC- keep in mind, I had no idea how to show.. and we won Best In Show. So we decided to travel and hit a few more. We went to New Orleans, San Francisco and a few others, and Champed Danger out in 4 shows.” Josh handled Danger himself, and Grand Champed him in less than a year. For those new to confirmation shows, that’s extremely difficult and quite an achievement.

“I have been blown away by the support we’ve received from the bully community, it is truly humbling. We like to go out and compete and have fun, if it get’s to the point where it’s not fun for us anymore, I’ll stop.”

WHAT QUALITIES DO YOU LOOK FOR IN AN AMERICAN BULLY?

“Definitely structure. I have to have a bully that’s structurally sound. There’s no perfect dog, every dog has weaknesses, or areas that could use some improvement. But, I like a well structured bully with a good top line, and straight, tight feet are a must.”

DANGER IS ONE IMPRESSIVE BULLY, WHAT IS ONE THING THAT MAKES HIM STAND OUT WHEN COMPETING?

“A few Judges have said “that’s how a big dog should move!” His movement is uncanny, on top of that he loves to compete. He has a great show presence, he is ready to work the second he sees that show lead.”

DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE BLOODLINE?

Razors Edge. Dogs like King Kamali, Excalibur, EZ Rider

CONGRATULATIONS ON WINNING BBCR’S NATIONAL SPECIALTY EVENT! CAN YOU TELL US A LITTLE MORE ABOUT GRAND CHAMPION DANGER?

Danger is the best dog in the World to me, he’s an indoor dog. You don’t get a better temperament on a dog, he’s got a great personality.. he’s my best bud. I take him everywhere with me, he’s a people person so he loves to meet new people. He loves the attention. I lucked out in the fact that he’s show-worthy, because I’m no professional handler. My Jr. Handler could be considered as one though! I’d like to give a shout out to Destiny Myers, she’s awesome. I definitely look up to her and ask a lot of questions. She’s great.

DANGER IS MASSIVE, WHAT ARE HIS STATS?

Danger usually weighs in at around 85–90lbs. The most he has gotten up to was around 103lbs. He didn’t move as well though with extra weight. He is 18" tall with a 27" head. This is a big bully with a ton of drive.

DID YOU HAVE A MENTOR OR SOMEONE YOU GO TO FOR ADVICE?

Shawn Mullins, Tim Edwards and the camp over at Black Label- especially Kino Arroyos, I am definitely appreciative for what they have done for me.

WHAT IS THE BEST WAY FOR OUR READERS TO CONTACT YOU?

Email: Beaverspridekennels@yaho.com
FB: Josh Beavers
Phone: 918.869.6740

--

--