A day for friends

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2009
Friends

First Sunday, the friendship day, it is highly criticised in India because of the high commercialization done to this. Since this is mainly celebrated by the youngsters in school and colleges and the gift market mainly target them to sell their friendship day products.

I do not remember buying gifts for my friends mainly for friendship day (yes I know i am stingy). But I do wish them on this day, given that I remember else it is just like another day. During college days we used to go out for dinner or movies, which is pretty common, but on this particular day we spend a lot.

This friendship day, is yet another Sunday for me, as I had to work yesterday, I terribly needed a day to rest (read it sleep). Since we have a very good communication system now, wishing a friend was not a problem.

I got some text messages, emails (which i started getting a week earlier), scraps in orkut, wall posts in facebook, phone calls etc., I replied each and everyone of them. I sent some friends a YouTube link for a song which talks about friends (some buggers didn’t bother to reply me hehe).

But I cannot forget the famous friendship day bands we used to have some ten years back. I really do not see anyone wearing them now. I remember, when I was in school, the more band you wear, the more friends you have. And students considered it cool.

My gang was a boring gang (in school) we were more interested to spend money on ice creams, chocolates and we hangout in a Church(!!!) garden that was near the beach which had a nice view and cool breeze and people always thought that we are nerds and decent (???) ( the reason was, we always maintained a good boy image then, so didn’t want others to notice us hang

Friends1

ing out in street corner or in the beach)

I do not remember exchanging bands with my friends back then (later in college days too our gang was never into this thing, so I got frustrated and bought a custom made band for me and wore it ). But we exchanged some cool gifts from now and then, not especially on friendship day. I still have those gifts in my closet, they are cute and always have some small story for me to remember about.

Nothing more to write about friendship day, as I never celebrated it in a big way, but I would like to say to all my friends that, even if I don’t remember you guys 24/7 or if I forgot to wish you on any special occasion it does not mean that I forgot you, I do remember each and everyone from now and then and many day to day activities surely reminds some of you guys. I don’t want to take names here, but I love you all, and you all have surely influenced me in one way or the other.

So, I thank you all for being my friend, and for tolerating my craziness and stupidity or whatever you call it.

HAPPY FRIENDSHIP DAY GUYS!!!

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.