Coffee service to Chennai blogger meet

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
3 min readMar 19, 2010

I originally thought of writing three different posts. The Tranquebar side story is small and there have been lots of reviews on Aayirathil Oruvan and obviously there is going to be a dozen of post on Indiblogger Chennai meet. So, I thought I will summarize all three into single post.

Tranquebar Procelain

I was intrigued to do a follow up on Tranquebar when I got a side news from a Danish friend about a coffee service (Porcelain) he inherited which is called Tranquebar. I got more excited when he said that the design on the set had waves on them. Reason, the Tamil name of Tranquebar is Tarangambadi, which means ‘place of singing waves’. So I started to search on the internet about the coffee set designed by Christian Joachim but found nothing. Later I mailed Royal Copenhagen, the company that produced the particular porcelain in 1918, and asked them about the origin of the name for the particular Coffee service. I got a prompt reply from them which I didn’t expect. It turned out that Tranquebar is a fantasy name and the name was given to have a romantic and nostalgic ring of old times of Danish trade with the far east.

Meanwhile I watched Aayirathil Oruvan yesterday. It was a nice try, different genre in Tamil cinema, kudos to Selvaraghavan. But the movie pissed me off in few minutes. I don’t mind if the movie lacks logic or if it has cheap graphics. But, utter disrespect to indigenous people and killing them like they are not humans is grossly disturbing and disgusting. That too by Indian archeological department and Indian army in a foreign soil. Give me a break!

And Today I attended my first bloggers meet at Chennai, organized by Indiblogger and

Indiblogger Chennai Meet

sponsored by Univercell. It was nice to meet fellow bloggers whom we interact only online. It also helped to meet new bloggers and to network. The entire meet was filled with fun and laughter. Tweets were displayed live and few bloggers sent comments via tweets, which was hilarious. You can read some of the most hilarious tweets here. 30 sec of fame was fun and the traditional media and bloggers session was interesting. And honestly a few people, a very few people, need to learn how to behave in a social gathering. Oh yes, xenophobia can be cured. Overall, I enjoyed the Indiblogger meet and it was fun and useful. Looking forward for the next Indiblogger meet. Driving 300kms up and down from Pondicherry to Chennai was totally useful. May be next time, we can have a small to do and not to do list.

Click here for more review and info on Univercell Chennai Indiblogger Meet

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.