Friends — Weird yet interesting…

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2009

I first met him in college hostel. He was in the room opposite to mine. He was so sad and depressed when I first met him.

Friends at Beach

I found him buggy and irritating at first. Back then I didn’t even dream that I will share a house with him for two years!!! While in hostel, we had an off and on relationship (not the other kind). We fought and would never talk for at least 6 months, then again in a very dramatic way we used to get together.

Once when I went home for semester holidays, I remember him running behind the train I travelled, till the end of the platform. It was so filmy. I was so happy when he did this, and if I remember right, I was sad because the next day was my birthday, and I would be in train travelling alone. But later I found that he is a nut case and does it for everyone!!!(lol kidding).

Once you know him well, you will not be surprised by the surprises he gives. He is a master in it. Expect the unexpected. He makes you feel like shit for a moment, then the next second he makes you feel so special. It took me sometime to understand this. This was the another reason why we had turf most of the time.

This army school product was so well organised and does things as planned. I found it bit odd. After first semester, we both shared the same room in the hostel. His organised routine was bit odd to me but I should admit that I picked up some from him. It is very rare to find someone so organised in their college days and he is one of them.

I remember once he complained to me about how I disturb him by listening songs in my walkman (God I always used my headphones!!!). He used to force me to turn the volume to the last point in it. I found it quite funny and sometimes I taunted him by turning up the volume.

One day I was bored with the hostel mess food and forced him to take me to the nearby hotel. We planned to have some grand dinner, but we ended up in a crappy Dhaba (restaurant) and we almost ordered something that we never heard in our life (Till today I don’t know what I had that day). The food was even more crappy and we left the restaurant without having anything (we did pay the bills). On returning hostel we found nothing as we were already late.

We never discussed about that event after that, but I surely know that was one of the horrible experiences for us both.

He hates shopping, at least during the early days. But we always went together to shop (mostly for me). But during the final years of college, I saw drastic changes in him, he loved shopping, in fact he shopped more than me.

We did numerous pranks on people during hostel days. Our main victim would be our hostel cook. Even if he is alone, he would not leave our cook in peace. Not to forget the ghost game we played on a fresher and he almost cried.

My time with his was not always pleasant. He once thrashed me when I and another friend playfully tired to pull his towel when he came out of the bath. Later that day he bought me a gift and apologised.

When I left hostel, I moved in with him, I should say one should be lucky to have him as a roomie. Totally adjustable and he never bugs. I am a total privacy freak and I should say he respects others privacy.

He looks so unromantic and boring outside, trust me he is one of those ROMANTIC IDIOT!!!

He is a movie freak but hates to watch movies with sad endings, especially the romantic ones. Again here, I used to show him all the romantic tragedy movies. May be that is the reason why he took me to one of the crappiest movie ever when I returned home after college.

I learnt a lot from him, though our travel together is over now, I still remember our good old days, and look forward to have those pointless walk we always used to have.

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.