Now I know where Noorie is from!!!

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
2 min readSep 7, 2009

Noorie — Bally Sagoo

I remember watching this (Noorie remix by Bally Sagoo) song some 10 years back. Even though this (Aaja Re O Mere Dilbar Aaja) was the original song from the movie ‘Noorie (1979)’ , I came to know about the song only in 1999, thanks to MTV.

Like the original song, the remix is also catchy and the video makes it more interesting. It was one of my favourite back then. Then as usual my favourite list got updated and this song got pushed back. But I used to listen to this now and then.

So, now what made me to write about this song is bit interesting. I was going through the South Asia section of the BBC website. When I was going through the headlines, this particular topic caught my attention, ‘Haunted’ Indian station reopens.

A Indian railway station which was abandoned for 42 years because of fears that it was haunted has reopened in the eastern state of West Bengal.

Locals and railway workers say they lived in fear of a female phantom who frequented Begunkodor 260km (161 miles) from the state capital, Calcutta.

In 1967, a railway worker is said to have died days after he saw a “woman ghost” draped in a white sari….more

When I went through the article, the first thing that came to my mind was this song. A mysterious girl draped in white sari walks all over the city to reach the railway station and looks for someone.

Well, I haven’t watched the original movie, so I cannot relate to the original score. Also I am not sure if the original song gives the same story that the remix version gives. It was easy for me to relate the article to the new version, and I always thought that the girl’s name in the video was Noorie.

Back then, at times I felt spooky while watching this video. Well, Even now I feel bit of spookiness…hehe…But I know Noorie is a good girl, love makes her keep going!!! So, we all should encourage her to reach her beloved!!! GO NOORIE GO!!!

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.