Obsessive Compulsive Movie Disorder (OCMD)

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
2 min readSep 21, 2009

That’s just the title!!! I do watch movies, but I can survive without watching movies for a really long time. The last movie I saw in theatre was almost a year back or say 10 months ago.

But once in a while I get this OCMD. The last time I had this was in 2003 not once but twice the same year. But after that I never had it. Now I have it again!!! What scares me is, I get this OCMD for all crappy movies. And no one really wants to accompany me.

Back then, I literally dragged my friend to the theatre. For the second movie, I had to go alone because when I told him the plan he just disappeared for a week :P. I do not know why I get this OCMD for such crappy movies, but in both the movies I liked a particular song, which was as much infamous as the movies were.

The actors in those movies were not of my kind, normally I would avoid their movies. This time, after nearly six years I get this feeling and what bothers me is that the actor in the movie, Kamal Hasan, is in my list. I mean the ‘yes I can watch his movies’ list. I usually watch his movies and I admire his versatility and his talent.

Not everyone likes his movies, sometimes I end up defending him when someone underestimates his ability. Though his latest Tamil movie Unnai pol Oruvan is a remake of the Hindi movie A Wednesday! I have this strong urge to watch this movie. Again I should wait until I go to Pondicherry to watch it. Not many Tamil movies are screened in Delhi, even if they screen the timings are odd!!!

I hope the movies does not disappoint me. A Wednesday! generally have good reviews, I enjoyed Munnabhai MBBS but I did not enjoy the Tamil version Vasool Raja MBBS which was again played by Kamal Hasan.

Now I have the copy of ‘The Lost Symbol’ to keep me off the temporary OCMD. At least till I reach Pondicherry.

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.