Queer customisation

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2016
  • A group of media students walk into a queer event – “hello sir, we are from bla bla college and we want to interview a ‘successful gay man’ for our project”.
  • hello, I am a Viscom student. I got your number from bla bla. I am working on my project and I want to make a documentary on LGBT people. Would it be possible for you to arrange two lesbian women, two gay men, two transgender. I want a diverse group, will one of the woman be butch?
  • hello sir, my prof gave me your number. I have to submit my project title. Today is the last day. I have chosen to document the life of transgender person through a photo series. I believe that would help others understand them well. Prof wanted me to check with you if this is a good project. What do you think sir? “Umm…did you contact anyone from the transgender community?” “No sir, I don’t have time now” “I think you should talk to someone more appropriate” “sir please tell me if this is a good project” “I appreciate your efforts…b” “thank you very much sir, I will tell prof you liked the idea”
  • “our FM believes in equality, we want to feature LGBT people in our shows from different background” “ok?” “Can you suggest someone who can speak English?”

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.