Section 377 and Tamil Cinema

moulee
bumpahead.net
Published in
2 min readNov 22, 2021
https://twitter.com/QCChronicles/status/1102477903034384385

There are two Tamil films that actually acknowledged / celebrated (?) amendment of S377 in 2009 and 2018.

Venkat Prabhu’s Goa had a gay love track including a song that directly referenced to the HC verdict on 377. Anita Updeep’s 90ml had a lesbian love track and carried information related to s377 amendment by SC in 2018 during the interval. Folks have varied opinion on both the films; especially with respect to the representation and stereotypes. To me personally, I found they were sensible enough for the time and in that specific film’s theme.

I felt the audience were not ready when Goa released. Guys were hooting and booing when Sampath and ArvindA came on screen. It had to do with the audience and not the persons on screen. The same was with 90 ml.

I also mentioned Goa in the below article. Given that it has been five years since I wrote the piece, I think I should have written more about the film. Probably will watch it again.

Also since we witnessed what happened with Goa in the theatres, we tried to subdue the hoots for 90 ml.

On the other hand I also completely agree with the criticisms queer folks have on both the films. I see where they come from. But here i’d like to highlight how these two Tamil films actually registered ‘decriminalising’ homosexuality in India.

--

--

moulee
bumpahead.net

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Strategist. Trainer and Coach. Co-Founder Queer Chennai Chronicles.