I’m building Bunches.

Derek Brown
Bunches
Published in
2 min readApr 2, 2019
Pink is the new black.

Sign up for the Bunches waiting list here.

Hi, I’m Derek, and I’m building Bunches, the best way to come together.

I’m currently building Bunches as a side project: my family and I were using Slack to communicate, and it’s obvious that it wasn’t built for our use case. Additionally, apps like Facebook Groups and GroupMe are clunky and frankly not delightful to use. Sure, there are family-oriented apps out there (Picniic, etc), but I wanted to build something a bit more general-purpose.

Text messaging or WhatsApp is fine if all you want to do is chat, but we all know that groups interact in more ways than just chat. We plan events, we pay one another back after outings, we make decisions, we share media, and more. I’m building Bunches to be that place for small groups to communicate.

Because Bunches is starting out as a side project for myself, I’m building it just for iOS right now, but plan on building an Android app and web app if there’s enough interest. I’ve got a number of things I want to bring to the app on top of the existing chat functionality, and if you’re an early tester, you’ll get a link to the planned roadmap and upcoming feature list….along with the ability to vote on what you’d like to see!

Bunches is already in TestFlight, and I’m using it in our home. I’m close to product-market fit. ;)

Want to help? Sign up for the waiting list here.

--

--

Derek Brown
Bunches

Joyful leader. CEO at @Exeq. formerly @Addepar, @LinkedIn. Party animal. I speak for no one but myself.