How do Freelancers Bring Home the Bacon?

bunq
bunq Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 22, 2018

Invoicing clients can seem like a daunting task to most freelancers. We’ll uncover some simple tricks and tips on how to get paid.

A few tricks and tips for collecting bills from clients.

If you are a freelancer or if you ever wanted to become one, you must have asked yourself thousands of times: how do I get paid? Will they even pay me for the work I do? How do I even start?

Well, luckily the answers are all completely up to you! You decide how and when you get paid, you just need to take control from the very beginning.

Some simple tricks and tips may help you get started though! I gathered them along the way when I started freelancing myself. Try to keep them in mind, enjoy the excitement of starting something new, and appreciate the freedom of your new workplace (probably your couch)!

Get it in writing, it’s binding

Always make sure to sign a contract before starting the work. It can serve as a good point of reference regarding your relationship with the employer and comes handy in case there are any debates about that bacon.

Pose a deposit

Before starting with any assignment, ask for a deposit. This way not only can you more easily avoid freeloaders, but your employers will also take you more seriously. You can even ‘set a precedent’ by rejecting a client who didn’t provide your deposit on time — word-of-mouth may spread and others will know: this guy is not joking!

Invoice often: it’s precaution

Don’t let your invoices pile up, send them out at the end of each week. This way you not only spare yourself the struggle of having to do a hundred of them at once, but also secure a stable flow of income. How, you ask? Well, if some of your contracts define a 30 working day limit on payment, they might actually kill all that time before they even pay you. Don’t leave yourself hanging, make sure there is always a paying client in the pipeline!

Keep it simple

This means two things actually:

  1. Keep it simple for your employer. Clearly outline the details of payment, including deadlines, amounts, and payment method(s). The easier this flows, the more likely they are to pay you on time!
  2. Keep it simple for yourself. You don’t want to stress over bookkeeping and banking when you could spend more time getting sh*t done!

Extra tip: open a business account

When starting out, I tried to arrange all my finances via one single bank account — just because it seemed easier at first. Well, it was not. But I also hated the idea of having to spend hours in a branch… then a friend told me about his experience with bunq! (Which I ended up liking so much I got a job there and left freelancing behind, but that’s a story for another time.)

At that time three things appealed to me particularly.

  1. No going to a branch. I opened the account as I was sitting on my couch on a Tuesday evening, at an hour when no bank would be open.
  2. On the top of the comfort, the whole sign-up took no more than 5 minutes! A quick shot of my ID, answering a few basic questions, and done.
  3. Lastly, the automated bookkeeping bunq offers. The app allows me to connect to online accountancy services in real-time, making it easy as pie. It saves so much paperwork! There are tons of other amazing features you can enjoy while using this app, for instance the shiny rainbow colored bunq MasterCard everyone compliments.

Nevertheless, I hope the above tips help to kick-off your freelancer career! I promise, with following even just half the above, you’ll save hours on unnecessary paperwork on a daily basis.

To discover more about opening a Business account at bunq, visit our website at bunq Business!

--

--