Mother You Are

A poem dedicated to my mother and realizing her humanity

Tiana H
BUHUB
1 min readMay 10, 2024

--

Starry Ai Application Generated Image

You are more than just mother to me

You are my mirror

I see you for your mistakes

I see you for your dreams

Both realized and unrealized

I see you for the woman you are

I see you for the woman you inspire me to be

You are spiritual guide, creative inspiration

And ,Driving force

You are motivator, listening ear, and nonjudgmental spectator

You are my introduction to hip hop

You are the reason I love Black 90s films

You are prayer warrior and peacekeeper

You are woman before womb

Friend before anything else

If I could do it all over again

I’d choose you every time

Because

Mother you are

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. If you’re interested in seeing more of my writing please take a look at some of the other pieces on my profile and other articles in the BUHUB publication.

--

--