Shedding the Layers: Awakening to the Real You

This is not a straight path, but a winding stairway leading you deeper into your own being

Shubhada
BUHUB
6 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Photo by Rémy Penet on Unsplash

The Unconscious:

We arrive on this Earth as vibrant, sovereign beings brimming with potential. Yet, society quickly swoops in with a whirlwind of expectations and established norms. We’re gently, or perhaps not so gently, molded by the beliefs and systems that came before us. We learn to see the world through the lens of those around us, accepting what’s "shown" as reality.

Generations have carved well-worn paths, laying out a seemingly preordained way of life.

There’s a right way to do things, a life script we are compelled to follow. With limited space for exploration, many of us simply accept the narrative fed to us, striving to keep up, to not fall behind.

Driven by a core need for love and belonging, we strive to fit the mold – the role carved for us by family and society’s unspoken rules. Many of us live unconsciously, sleepwalking through life without ever questioning the script. This, is the default setting: the unconscious life where the majority of humanity lives.

The Crisis:

I, too, followed the script. Everyone around me seemed to be doing the same, and that felt...normal, the right way. It never even dawned on me that there might be more to life, something we were all missing.

Then, one day, the script began to crumble. The news of a famous personality’s passing, something I’d seen before without a second glance, suddenly hit me hard. Within a week, a stranger in my neighborhood collapsed and died on the street. This unfortunate event, tragic for many, became a turning point for me. A flood of unfamiliar emotions washed over me.

A celebrity and a stranger, two lives, vastly different, yet ending in the same inevitable way and both will eventually be forgotten.

What’s the point, then? Does it all mean anything? What separates their journeys, if both are eventually forgotten, regardless of fame or fortune?

Suddenly, all these questions started popping into my head. I couldn’t just pretend nothing happened and keep on living the same way. Everything I wanted before, all the things I thought were important, didn’t seem to matter anymore. I realized that even though I’d been doing what everyone expected, there had to be more. One day, it’ll all be over, and no one will remember me, not even myself.

What’s the point of it all then? Is this really all there is? Am I simply existing, going through the motions?

This experience is commonly called an existential crisis.

It’s a time when everything you thought you knew gets shaky.

It happens to most people, but when and how it hits is different for everyone.

The Dark Knight of the Soul:

“The dark night of the soul is a necessary passage if we are to find the true Self. It is like the caterpillar entering the cocoon before it becomes a butterfly.”- Joseph Campbell

With all these questions burning in my head, I went on a quest for answers. I asked everyone I knew – parents, family, friends, anyone who might have a clue. But no one seemed to have a satisfying answer. It made me unsure of everything. Suddenly, all I thought I knew felt pointless, and what I really wanted to understand was still a mystery. The things that used to motivate me didn’t matter anymore.

Then, one day, it hit me, I realized that the life I knew wasn’t the whole story, there is something bigger out there, a world where we’re all connected as souls, not just bodies.

This idea made me see everyone differently, as souls. But I wasn’t ready for it. Nobody around me seemed to get it, and these weren’t thoughts I was used to having.

With all the unanswered questions swirling around, and this sudden realization, my mind and body couldn’t take it anymore. I started having panic attacks (even though I didn’t know what they were at the time). I knew there was no getting around it, I had to get to the root of it all.

The Awakening:

Turns out, I needed to heal. To shed the layers of beliefs and expectations I’d built up over time, to discover who I truly was beneath it all. It was a long journey, one that continues to this day. But with each step toward self-discovery, the pieces began to fall into place.

One morning after yoga, exhausted, overwhelmed and with nowhere to go, I sat in meditation. Despite being on the path of healing and understanding my true self, I felt utterly lost. I poured out a plea to the universe - a cry for help, for truth, for the answers I craved.

When I finished meditating, I felt drawn to YouTube, something I barely used. As I opened it, a video popped up on my feed. I clicked on it, and guess what? It had everything! Every question I ever had, every doubt I held, was explained in a way that made perfect sense to me. Tears welled up in my eyes, happy tears. It felt like coming home, like all the pieces finally fit together. I was so overjoyed, it felt like the universe itself was talking to me. I felt understood, blessed, and happier than words could say. Finally, with newfound inner understanding and awareness, the world started to make sense in a whole new light.

Awakenings are like breakthroughs in consciousness. You experience a profound shift in how you understand yourself and the world around you. It’s like seeing through a veil for the first time.

The Path Head : A Winding Stairway

This awakening isn't the finish line, but the exciting beginning. It's where you truly begin to understand who you are, your purpose, and your place in the world.

This unfolds at its own pace, largely determined by your willingness to embrace the truth and integrate it into your life.

Think of it like a spiral staircase. You might encounter similar issues initially, driven by old patterns despite your newfound awareness. But remember, you’re not stuck or reliving past traumas. With each step, you ascend the spiral, unraveling deeper layers of yourself and getting closer to your authentic being. Every setback though seemingly repetitive becomes an opportunity to learn deeper truths and experience your true being.

Closing Remarks:

If you recognize yourself in these experiences, know that you’re on a path of grace and are not alone. You’re being guided to awaken to your true purpose, to see through the illusions. It might shake up your physical reality, but it’s actually a chance to see beyond the limitations we create. It’s the universe revealing your potential, your divine essence, and your true being. Through what may seem as suffering, we discover a deeper love for all things.

This journey requires these stages. The world’s illusions are deeply ingrained, and sometimes it takes a little shaking to wake us up.

Know that it’s an ongoing journey with multiple "dark nights" and awakenings. With each one, you’ll integrate something profound and beautiful, something beyond worldly limitations and everything unfolds perfectly for your soul’s growth.

There’s a powerful shift happening right now – a time of awakening for many! We’re all here to support each other as we move from ego-driven limitations to a more open-hearted way of being. It’s an incredible transformation, and I’m honored to share it with all of you.

Love and light✨️
© yours_nabi, 2024

--

--

Shubhada
BUHUB
Writer for

Inspired by the power of shared experiences & connection,I write to create a space where vulnerability & authenticity pave the way for collective transformation