The Light in the Eyes of a Child

When Big Truths are Revealed in the Eyes of a Little Child

Hermit at Heart 🌲
BUHUB
2 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Photo by author

Frazzled, I struggle to finish all tasks to get us out the door. In the hallway, little kid voices joyfully belt out little kid tunes, but the stress in my chest renders the music dim and distant to my ears. My fingers work swiftly, slipping little hands into mittens and pushing little feet into boots. The clock is ticking. I hurry, consumed by the urge to reach our destination on time. Little arms glide through the jacket sleeves, and I squat down to help close the zipper.

The gaze of my child meets mine. His gaze is bright and clear. Eyes full of light, and the light reflects peace.

Struck by the insight, I pause my hurried pace. In this everyday strain and hustle to move ahead, get going and reach goals, I again forgot. Again, I was consumed by one of my many “musts”. In this mindset, I missed the inherent peace of the surrounding space. I overlooked the inherent tenderness of two souls connecting.

Little beings convey big messages. The light in the eyes of my child repeatedly reminds me to return home.

Eyes that reflect joy call me home to mirth and abandon by laughing out loud at silly jokes. Eyes that reflect wonder call me home to curiosity and gratefulness for ants and beetles crawling in the grass. Eyes that reflect trust call me home to rest in the moment and accept the winds and currents that carry our lives. And, maybe most of all, eyes that reflect innocence call me home to rediscover the magic of our world, our moments and our innermost beings.

A little hand slips into mine. Tender warmth spreads through my palm and calms my frazzled nerves. Out the door we go, like intrepid explorers, to face another day of wonder.

--

--

Hermit at Heart 🌲
BUHUB

As often as possible, I choose one of the three R's: Reading, Running or Writing.