An Interview with Zoe Fioravanti: The Rising Star Talks About Her Music Career and Her Recent Playboy Australia Cover with G-Eazy

Noor Abid
Burgerrock Media
Published in
5 min readSep 10, 2021

--

Zoe Fioravanti for Grazia Magazine

Model, singer, and songwriter Zoe Fioravanti is ready to take the music industry head-on with her young, modern perspective. With a unique voice to be reckoned with, the young talent has a deep, raspy tone with versatility. While still in search for her niche style, the singer has already adapted her voice to indie, urban genres, alternative rock, and jazz and blues. Fioravanti’s career is on the rise, and she has already appeared on esteemed magazine covers, the most recent one being Playboy Australia with G-Eazy, which has gone viral. A single soon to be released on October 15 and an album titled Fior planned to drop in the next year, Fioravanti is more than ready to prove her worth to the entertainment industry. This interview is only a glimpse into the determined and empowered woman underneath.

1.Can you tell me more about where you are at in terms of your music career and making music set to be released?

Right now, I’m working on an album that’s going to be released next year. I’m working super hard to release my first single in October. I really want to start a career and be successful in my singing. To sing songs about my life, to connect with others, I’m working really hard every single day to make this dream come true.

I’m going to LA to work with producers to hone in on my music style, create this album, I’m so anxious to get it out.

It’s all such a crazy experience for me. At 16 years old, I never would’ve imagined what I’m doing now. I’m having so much fun and I just want to share it with the world.

I’m not signed with a label. It’s just my mom and I. We’re taking it slow, learning a lot about the music business, I really want to have the rights to all my music. I’ve seen what’s gone down with other artists when they don’t own their music so I want to make sure I own all the rights to my songs.

2.Tell me more about your upcoming single, which is the first song you will be releasing.

I’ve decided to call my first single ‘Fior’ because my last name is Fioravanti and Fior means flower in Italian. I’m 50% Italian. I think it’s part of my theme. The album is going to be like my coming out and being super authentic about my life… This is super wracking but super important. I feel all the emotions going on with putting out my very first single.

3.Can you describe your musical sound?

My sound is very soul. I’m very into soul, jazz, blues — I also love alternative and rock ‘n roll. My voice is pretty raspy. I resonate a lot with those genres. Some of my music icons are Amy Winehouse, Stevie Nicks, Adele, Billy Joel, Elton John - those are the artists that I love to relate to.

4. Considering your list of musical icons, what is the message you want to personally spread through your music?

I really want to write music for women who have struggled. Struggled opening up and talking to people, who have struggled expressing their emotions. A lot of the time for me, when I’ve tried to express myself through communicating with others it’s always been very, very hard. I’ve had a very difficult time opening up about myself. And for me with music, a lot of the time when I listen to other artists, their songs really stick with me and I feel their emotions and it’s really important for me to get that out and for me to write how I feel in my lyrics, I believe people will understand it more. You can hear that emotion in artists through their singing voice. I feel like women can feel very alone in certain situations and for me, I want to empower them. I want to be super empowering for women.

5. What was it like working with G-Eazy for the Playboy Australia magazine cover shoot?

That was my first time meeting him… He’s such a nice guy. Super easy going, super nice. Hanging out with him on set, I felt like I already knew him. When we were shooting the more intimate shots, G was super respectful and very professional. It wasn’t weird at all, I felt super comfortable. It felt very natural, like we were friends, we were having good conversations. Afterward I thanked him for having me on the shoot and was just super appreciative of him for having me on it.

6. G-Eazy also got to listen to some of your music. What was that like?

During the shoot, he asked me about myself and I told him I’m a signed model with Wilhelmina, but that I also sing and am currently working on an album. He was super taken aback because he didn’t realize I sang. He asked me if I wanted to show him some of my music and I was like ‘Sure, why not?’ I showed him a song of mine and he was bumping to it when he was listening to it, and said, ‘Wow I really like this. You’re really good.’ And he asked me about the producers I’ve been working with and gave me some feedback and his opinions. I appreciated his input — I can take any opinion or constructive criticism. Then he told me that one day he could help me produce some music. I was so grateful and was like, ‘Wow, that would be so generous of you.’ It was really cool that we were able to connect on music. It made our time together on the Playboy shoot less weird because we could relate a little bit on the music side. We had something to talk about rather than just being silent during the photo shoot.

For updates on the rising star’s career, follow her on Instagram (@zoefioravanti).

--

--