JavaScript callbacks are highly underrated

Burke Holland
Burke Knows Words
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2018

HAHAHAHAHA no. I miss callbacks like I miss the flu. Like I miss the first day of my freshman year or the last time I had a panic attack.

Overdramatic? Maybe. OK, yes definitely but I have a hard enough time coding without the chaos that callbacks inject into my life. I always felt like Promises were kind of the same way; like the callback is still there, we just moved it and then decided that callbacks were totally legit.

To be fair, Promises are way better than callbacks. But it’s kind of like putting duct tape over a broken window; It’s not really what you wanted, but it’s a heck of a lot better than a hole in your wall.

Async/await is what we’ve all been waiting for. I wrote about our journey from callbacks to async/await over at the Zeolearn blog. It was good to go back and see how far we’ve come. And let me tell you, we have come a long way. Check out the article below and if you haven’t moved to async/await yet, today is the best day to do it.

--

--

Burke Holland
Burke Knows Words

Pretty fly for a bald guy. Hacking on Azure at Microsoft.