Why should I care about .NET Core?

Burke Holland
Burke Knows Words
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2018

I got my start in programming with .NET. Version 1 to be exact. Yes, I am old.

About 10 years ago, I switched to JavaScript and I have been a much happier person since then. Object-oriented programming was never easy for me and I never felt good at it.

Here is an actual video of me writing C#. Seriously.

That was painful. Did you watch all the way to the end? WHY?!? What is wrong with you?

JavaScript, on the other hand, felt like it was made for me. I was able to stop struggling and enjoy the work I was doing. I think that some people’s brains just work differently. I know mine does. I feel extremely fortunate to have found JavaScript. I’m not sure I would have been able to survive in this industry.

Now that I have JavaScript, should I care about .NET anymore? I recently sat down with Jasmine Greenaway to talk about why JavaScript developers probably should care about .NET Core, even if we currently don’t.

Enjoy the chat with Jasmine and make sure you check out these resources from the show. Now is a great time to learn .NET Core.

--

--

Burke Holland
Burke Knows Words

Pretty fly for a bald guy. Hacking on Azure at Microsoft.