The Kiam Siap Diner’s Guide

Rueann Dass
Burpple Digest
Published in
5 min readNov 2, 2016
Illustration by Hwans Lim

‘Kiam siap’ is a popular phrase of the Hokkien dialect spoken widely here in Malaysia. It basically translates to mean ‘stingy’ or ‘kedekut’. I hate to admit it, because the label is often perceived unfavourably, but I am certifiably, completely and shamelessly kiam siap. I am the kind of person who still asks for the Wi-Fi password even though I have 10GB worth of mobile data on my phone, and the customer who says “no thanks” when the barista at Starbucks tells me the upsize only costs RM1, and then casually asks for free water. My ultimate kiam siap tendencies however have always got to do with dining out. Since I, along with 64 percent of Malaysians, eat out at least once a day, the best way to make the savings count really is to be penny smart when dining out!

That said, being kiam siap doesn’t always have to involve unbecoming behaviour. It’s important to know that frugality is sometimes less about being stingy and instead about getting more bang for your buck. It is a financially sound decision that I approve of, and one that I’d like to think I excel at. So now fellow diners, I pass down my years of acceptable Kiam Siap Knowledge to you. These are my top three tips to scrimp and still have a thoroughly satisfying meal out:

Get Set Go

Set meals are heavensent — a gift to help us eat delicious, balanced meals at feasible prices. Instead of forking out RM20 for a main, you can get that, an appetiser and a drink for the exact same price! Most restaurants are considerate enough to offer these decent deals during specific meal times so really, there is no reason not to get a set if you arrive in time for one. In fact, go all out to get it, like this friend of mine.

“McDonald’s has a 6–9pm dinner value meal. One time, I arrived at 5.50pm and I stood there waiting in front of the counter until 6pm to order.”

Formosa at Sunway Pyramid

To help you begin building your cheap sheet of set meals available out there, check out Formosa, as recommended in Burpple’s guide to Best Cheap and Good Meals Under RM15.

Bank On The Good Economy (Rice)

If you’re Malaysian, chances are you have eaten this buffet-style rice dish and you would probably have thought these things on many occasions: How does that uncle at the end of the line decide how to charge? Why does my plate cost more when it looks less than that stranger’s mountainous one (no offense, random hungry dude)? A lot of people fall for variety when having economy rice. After all, if I’m already having such a simple meal, I should at least get a good mix, right? Wrong. That desire for diversity on your plate is what dumps your kiam siap rationale to the drain.

Photo of 282 Mixed Rice by Burppler Emily Choong

Economy rice stalls typically charge by the number of dishes you take — the portion is secondary. For instance, taking a little bit of four different dishes will cost you more than a plate packed to the brim with two dishes. If you are here to take advantage of a filling meal that won’t deal much damage to your wallet, follow the footsteps of random hungry dude and fill your plate up with only two or three dishes.

Drink Water — It’s Free

When all else fails, save on drinks. We often blow our dining budget because the cost of drinks aren’t accounted for, and the reason they aren’t is because they are much less significant than the food that fills your belly.

The next time you feel the temptation to order one, remember that restaurants make the most profit from their drinks (the margins are preposterous!) so don’t be a sucker — set that money aside for your next meal and ask for water instead. Most places don’t charge for it and even if they do, you’ll be paying a mere RM0.50. Besides, water is good for you. ;)

If all of this sound like a strange, unlikely concept, think again. Whether or not people like to admit it, deep down, we all have a little bit of ‘kiam siap-ness’ in us. Check out the confessions of these young Malaysians who won at being kiam siap. #TrueStory

“To save money on limau ais at the mamak, I once ordered ais kosong (iced water) and Maggi goreng and requested for one extra lime with it. Then, I squeezed the extra lime into the water for sugar-free limau ais.”

“I always order the cheapest thing on the menu and then, steal a little bit of everyone else’s food.”

“At Korean restaurants, I order only one main dish and then I whack the side dishes and ask for refills.”

“I bury veggies and meat under my rice when I go for chap fan (economy rice) hoping that the uncle doesn’t notice it.”

“I make it a habit to refuse the peanuts and wet tissues at Chinese restaurants. They charge you a bomb for those.”

“I once ordered hot Chinese tea with one waiter, then asked a different waiter to add sugar, and then, another waiter for ice cubes because the tea was ‘too hot’. Saved two-third the price of teh o’ ais!”

“One time, a restaurant was running a ‘pay what you like’ promotion and after asking for the bill, I left without paying when no one was watching”

“I went for a buffet and ate my fill for about an hour, then I sneaked out to the toilet and swapped clothes with my friend. He then went in as me and ate his fill.”

--

--

Rueann Dass
Burpple Digest

I am a multitasker. I write and eat at the same time. Burpple’s Content Strategist| Singapore & Kuala Lumpur