The Business Analyst Mindset in a Nutshell

BA mindset means taking responsibility for thinking

Yulia Kosarenko
Business, Architected
4 min readMay 13, 2022

--

Photo by Fabio Bracht on Unsplash

As business analysts, we want everything to be comprehensive. We want our documents to be clear and complete, the tops of the backlogs well-groomed, and we like to create lists. And so it happened that when I was defining the business analyst mindset in my book three years ago, I came up with a list of twelve principles:

However, once in a while somebody would ask: “What’s a BA mindset?” and I would struggle to express it succinctly. How about one sentence, instead of a list of twelve items?

So I gave it some thought: considered the twelve principles and the common thread in them, remembered all the brilliant business analysts I’ve met before, reflected on the best projects from my experience, and looked for a common pattern.

Here is what the business analyst mindset means for me in a nutshell: it’s taking responsibility for thinking when identifying solutions for business problems and needs.

--

--

Yulia Kosarenko
Business, Architected

Democratizer of business analysis & architecture. Diagram lover. Solopreneur on a journey. Write to help; consult to get things done. why-change.com 🇨🇦 🇺🇦