From an SDR to an AE: My Transition within Sales

Joydeep Ghosh
Business & Beyond @Hevo
4 min readJan 24, 2022

As a salesperson with more of a background in the IT services industry, entering Hevo and the SaaS industry was something new for me. Yet, even from the initial stages, I knew that I wanted to somehow transition from a Sales Development Representative (SDR) role to that of an Account Executive (AE). Having worked as an SDR before, I was looking to explore something new, take on a role I knew I’d enjoy, and expand my skills.

I began my journey as a Lead Inside Sales (SDR). I had to establish a connection with prospects, engage with customers and try to find their interest to learn more about Hevo and understand their current data structure. I had to get a pulse of what they were looking for and whether we could provide it. Often, I would re-engage with customers who had turned cold for some reason or the other, try to get an understanding of their existing and future requirements, and then follow up with a demo and the next steps. I had to be mindful of the persona of the prospect- their background (marketing or technical), whether they fit in the required criteria, etc.

My Transition

Throughout my stint as an SDR, I got a lot of support and a very thorough understanding of the entire SaaS industry. Having been into IT services previously, these months helped me prepare for my new role by thoroughly understanding the industry. I got the required support from everyone during this time, and not just from within my team- but also from related functions such as Support, Solutions team, etc. Though I was working as an SDR, I was able to manage other responsibilities that gave me a very broad perspective that guided me in my journey.

There were definitely some gaps that I had to plug in before taking this leap. I had to hone my negotiation skills and presentations skills a lot before becoming an AE, and also learn how to dig deeper into an account. I had to learn how to increase the mode of engagement, understand the nuances of being in touch and conversation with customers, and increase the possibility of closing an account.

I was able to utilize the liberty that is offered at Hevo, and my success in this regard has been a combination of my own initiatives and the support I received from the Sales team. I would often seek out feedback, from my own team as well as others. I would speak to other AEs to understand my gaps, what my approach should be, and where I should develop.

This learning period was crucial to my journey, and I could have not been as successful without it. I thought my key challenge would be because of the fact that I am from the service industry but the process put in place enabled me to gain ground quickly and within 5 months I was into my role and delivering.

My New Role

After a few months, I was given the role I wanted all along- that of an AE. Now, I take care of all processes once an Inbound Lead is assigned to me- consult with the customer, understand their requirements, engage with them throughout their product experience journey, solve any issues they incur during this time period and ensure they have a smooth onboarding experience.

This current role requires me to dig deep into each and every customer that I work with. I take a consultative approach and look into their use case, their end goal, and what would make them succeed and then cater each of my discussions in line with them. This makes my job more interesting and every day looks different simply because of the fact that every customer is different.

My Journey

I definitely feel that I’ve grown since I moved on to become an account executive, particularly in terms of upgrading my skills. The growth I have had in terms of learning a new skill set since the time I joined Hevo has made me a well-rounded sales professional. The learning curve has been rapid and filled with support and purpose.

Hevo played a crucial role in my ability to transition from one role to the other. I was pleasantly surprised at how seriously my thoughts and inputs were taken when I mentioned that I wanted to transition into an AE role during my interview, and then subsequently at the amount of support and opportunities provided to me to guide me towards this transition. Now the foundation has been laid, the journey and the road to growth look exciting.

Hevo is a rocketship and as long as you have a huge appetite for learning I believe there is no end to the level of growth one can achieve here.

--

--