My Onboarding Experience at Hevo, Revisited

Avishek Kataria
Business & Beyond @Hevo
4 min readSep 7, 2021

“It’s not only your efforts that make you successful in an organization but also the organization’s efforts towards you”

This is the mantra I sensed after completing 2 months at Hevo. In this article, I will cover my onboarding experience at Hevo and will throw some light on the team and processes in the organization.

Quick Bio — I am a product growth professional and ex-entrepreneur with over 8 years of work experience. I have worked across different industries and organizations of various sizes, from a small-sized startup to one of India’s top consumer brands.

First, I want to be clear that in all organizations that I have worked with previously, I found nothing wrong with the onboarding experience.

While joining Hevo, I was expecting a regular onboarding process with a few meetings and product demos. However, I was completely surprised by how well structured and smooth the onboarding process was. I used to think that you only find such an onboarding experience in enterprise companies like Google, Microsoft, and HubSpot.

As I went through the process and got involved in numerous things, I could sense the thought process and extensive efforts that went behind setting up the process.

The first thing that I loved was how I was happily welcomed into the organization. Even before my joining date, a senior member of the team scheduled a call with me. We had an interesting chat about current affairs and our interests. I was given a few pointers on what to expect on the first day. This warmed me up for this new and exciting journey, and helped smoothen my first day at Hevo.

On my first day, I was added to an employee engagement group called ‘Chai-Pe-Charcha’ where I got to interact with people from different teams and discussed everything other than work. I met really interesting team members and had fun conversations on things like Bangalore’s lifestyle, music, pubs, and many other things.

In the first week, there were introductory one-on-one calls with people within the same department. In these calls, we got to know each other and broke the ice before we got into work.

The second thing I am grateful for at Hevo is the type of people in the organization. I’m not sure how, but everyone at Hevo is super cool, talented, and very helpful. Every person I have interacted with has some interesting back story or extracurricular talent. I found team members who are business coaches, ex-entrepreneurs, stand-up comedians, rappers, and more. You can have hours of conversation with the folks at Hevo.

To top that, till now I haven’t met a single person who gives off an unpleasant vibe or has a wall of ego around them. Everyone is so talented yet humble. You can connect with anyone anytime and discuss work or other topics. There are always good vibes in the team and organization.

I have connected with people from various teams to discuss work and often ended up having fun conversations. I am certain I will find more interesting people as I get to know everyone better.

The third very helpful thing was the buddy program. The role of the buddy in the system is very elaborate. It helped me understand the organization and integrate into the system seamlessly. My buddy mentored me until my projects kicked off and were well aligned. She took out a lot of time from her project to help get me settled.

On my first day, I was introduced to my buddy, and from there, my buddy managed everything for me. She introduced me to the complete team, guided me through my training process, and helped me brainstorm and start off my projects.

I continue to ask my buddy a lot of questions to get clarity on things.

The fourth thing that played a huge role in helping me understand my role was the training program.

The training program is exceptional. It’s very well structured and thoughtful. While going through it, I could reflect on the attention to detail given to things. There are internally created training documents that are detailed and of high quality. It really helped me understand the attitude at Hevo and boosted my confidence in the choice I made to join Hevo.

When I joined I did not know much about data stack and data technologies, but within 2 weeks of the training program, I felt like I belonged in this industry.

I remember whenever I had a question about the product, there was a document already created and available about it. In addition, the document was so well explained that you wouldn’t need to ask anyone or do your own research on Google after reading it. A 4-year-old company having such a vast collection of detailed product and training documents is an amazing feat.

Overall, the onboarding program is designed to make sure you understand the complete industry landscape and are well equipped to perform well in the organization.

We appreciate you reading this article till the end. Building a great product takes hard work and determination. With each of us at Hevo sharing the same passion, everyone on the team takes the effort to go the extra mile. If you’d like to be a part of our journey and work on some of these unique challenges, please do check Hevo’s careers page.

--

--

Avishek Kataria
Business & Beyond @Hevo

Ex-entrepreneur and growth marketer. My WHY is to work on products and ideas that improves a process and takes the world a step ahead.